Skip to content

A Rainy Day in June

July 4, 2010

It was a rainy Monday, I was stuck in the house doing nothing but packing (ugh!). When I looked up from taping closed my latest box, I noticed that the rain had stopped.  Without a second thought I grabbed my camera and headed down the street to the community garden. I had a vague idea of taking pictures of raindrops on green leaves, and before I knew it, I’d filled almost a whole roll of film with pretty shots. Here are just some of my favorites.

These photos were taken in early June, and it is now July. Sadly, the weather here in the lower mainland has for the most part been rainy and grey. But I feel that this is about to change, or so enviroment canada says. It doesn’t really matter though, because as of Tuesday morning I will be on the road to go camping for a week with Mike and his family. Hurray! And having just had a visit from my family for a couple of days over the weekend, I feel so very blessed to be related (and soon to be related) to such wonderful people.

Also, I have discovered that film is probably more expensive than drugs. Stocking up on film to take with me for the trip set me back about $200+ dollars. The sad part? It works out to be less than 150 pictures in total. Cross my fingers that most of them turn out good! Also, I’ll have to stop ignoring my digital camera and break it out for the cheesy roadtrip pictures.

I hope you all have a lovely lovely week and I will be back sometime after the 14th of July!

See you then!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 6:15 pm

    I take my camera out in spite of the gray, with a lot of misgivings, but if I had to wait for sun I’d never take any pics. I often don’t care for my editing abilities so I’m kind of stuck with many gray photos. Ah well. Yours are nice, I like the colors.
    Have fun camping. We went last weekend and it was great.

  2. July 4, 2010 10:50 pm

    loving these shots! the last one makes me swoon.
    i’m out of town too…lets meet up again for a photo walk when we’re both back!

  3. July 6, 2010 7:29 pm

    what pretty pictures! i love how the garden looks after the rain…those pretty dew drops!
    xox alison

  4. July 9, 2010 8:14 pm

    Love the photos, great DOF

  5. Ashley Erin permalink*
    July 16, 2010 11:56 am

    Thanks so much Alison! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. 🙂

  6. Ashley Erin permalink*
    July 16, 2010 11:58 am

    Waiting on weather for photos is very annoying sometimes. Especially when one likes to use available light. I think then the key is to try things with depth of focus and to try and find contrast even amongst the gray.

  7. August 6, 2010 4:56 am

    Lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

