Skip to content

Christmas Surprise!

January 4, 2010

This Christmas I received a most surprising and exciting gift.

Sitting in my parents livingroom, all 5 of us around the Christmas tree – dad, mom, my sister, me and mike – almost all the presents opened.  All, except one. Mike had already opened my present to him, a maurice richard figure and the 100 years of Canadiens DVD wrapped in two Threadless teeshirts. Then he pulled out a large box from the back of the tree and handed it to me. It felt surprisingly light in my hands for its size. I felt a rush of excitement, Mike had been very secretive this year, more so than other Christmases. I unwrapped the colourful paper, and opened the cardboard flaps only to discover it was packed full of tissue paper. As I pulled that away, a small box became visible. Trembling, I picked it out and opened it. My heart stopped and I gasped as I opened it.  At that same moment, Mike got down on one knee and took my hand.

“Will you marry me?” He asked.

Of course I said yes, though it took a while to get the words out through the happy tears and exclamations of joy from my family.

So now we are officially engaged and so happy and excited! No date is set, I have nothing figured out, though I do have a few ideas because I have secretly been reading wedding blogs for a while now. I’ll try to keep the wedding stuff to a minimum on my blog here, unless of course you want to hear it.  😉

So far we’ve been having fun telling our friends and family and saying “fiancée” and “fiance” back and forth to one another.

Cheers everyone! It’s such a happy new year.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:42 pm

    I want to hear ALL about it, all the time 🙂 So happy for you!

  2. January 4, 2010 10:39 pm

    Oh my goodness! Congratulations!
    What a wonderful Christmas gift.
    Yes, yes, we’d love to hear all about it. =D

  3. youngromantic permalink
    January 5, 2010 7:31 am

    Congratulations, Ashley! What a wonderful surprise! I’d definitely love to hear all about wedding stuff. What an exciting time in your life!

  4. January 5, 2010 8:08 am

    Congratulations to you and your fiancee!
    I too would love to hear about your plans.
    Happy New Year!
    Best Wishes,
    Andrea

  5. January 5, 2010 8:41 am

    Congratulations! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Sorry for the late comment, but I am so happy for you. I hope you two will be the happiest of happy. 🙂

  6. aerussell permalink*
    January 6, 2010 1:12 pm

    Thanks so much everyone! The concesses seems to be that wedding planning = good blog material. So it shall be so! 😀

  7. January 6, 2010 4:25 pm

    Wow! Congradulations!

    Beautiful photo, also.

  8. January 8, 2010 3:45 pm

    oh congratulations! wow, that’s amazing!

  9. January 9, 2010 10:13 am

    Oh so happy. What a perfect Christmas gift. Congrats to the both of you.

  10. January 19, 2010 11:00 pm

    Hi! I used to read your blog a while back but got really busy with school and didn’t get on wordpress for several months. I’m on break now and just decided to take a peak at your blog again. This post brought little tears to my eyes because I know my boyfriend is the one and I’ve been daydreaming about weddings for a long time now. I think when you start looking at wedding blogs it means it’s the real deal. I also cry way more than is necessary every time I see a proposal in a movie or on TV. I’m so in love with him and I’m just going to cry hysterically when he asks me to marry him, I just know it. Anyway, not that you needed to know all that, but I just thought you’d understand. Congratulations!!!

  11. aerussell permalink*
    January 20, 2010 12:45 pm

    Thank you Shirin, Faux Naif, Melanie and Patty for your congratulations!

    Patty, yes, I completely understand that feeling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

