Skip to content

On the eve of the Solstice…

December 21, 2009

It’s Monday night, the house is quiet except for the sound of the dishwasher and the pacing of the cat in front of his food dish. Eventually that too stops as he jumps on one of the suitcases we’ve pulled out and curls up. The weekend has been a flurry of activity and preparation. So much to do before we fly off to my parents in northern Canada tomorrow! But now it is done and I have a moment to sit and contemplate.

On December 16th, 2008 I started this blog, without really knowing where I was going with it. I’ve had or tried to have various blogs over the years, and this looked like it would turn out to be another bit of code lost in the world wide web, never to be seen by anyone. I don’t know what I did, or didn’t do, or whatever, but somehow that didn’t happen. People came, each of you came, and some of you left your own thoughts on what I was babbling and through this, I feel as if I am making friends in places all over the world! I still get giddy evertime I get a new comment, or everytime I see that peopler are visiting my blog. It’s the best feeling in the world and thank you all so much for visiting me here, I heart you all!

I’ve been reading more on the process of blogging lately and am working to put myself out there more. At the start of 2009 I would read a few blogs but was too shy to comment, now I’m commenting on your blogs and your commenting on mine and we’re all sharing in the warmth of people who have common interests.

So, in honour of my one year (successful) blogging anniversary, and also because I will be taking a Christmas break to travel, here is a treat for you until my return on January 1, 2010.

A GIVEAWAY!!!!

What you win: a 4 postcard set of original Ashley E. Russell Photography photos. (see photos on flickr here, here, here and here) Postcards are of high quality and will be wrapped up all pretty just for you!

How to enter: Leave a comment on this post and answer this question: “What are you most looking forward to in 2010?”

Winner will be chosen by a random number generator and will be announced on January 1, 2010. You have until midnight on December 31, 2009 (Pacific standard time) to enter.

So, without further ado, comment away!

From me and mine here to all of you and yours out there, have a very Merry Christmas, a Happy Solstice this evening, and a very Happy New Year! See you in 2010!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 8:37 pm

    oh Ashley these are simply gorgeous!

    It is amazing to me how true friendships are formed here in blogland. Truly and wonderfully amazing.

    What I am most looking forward to in 2010 is spending time with family members who are coming to visit in February!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    🙂

    S

  2. Hannah permalink
    December 28, 2009 9:20 pm

    I’m wondering how soon it will be changing to A. E. Moore photography :D?

  3. Vicki permalink
    January 1, 2010 4:30 pm

    I am looking for more wonderful days and nights with my second husband. May YOUR 2010 dreams come true!

Leave a Reply

