Skip to content

Advent Calendars

December 1, 2009

It’s December already? Where did the time go?

December spells the end of the November blues and the start of the Christmas spirit! And how better to get into the mood than with an advent calendar.

Traditionally, Advent is a season of the Christian church calendar that begins four sundays before Christmas and is all about celebration. In European countries to mark the passing of each of the four weeks, one candle is lit each of the four Sundays. This advent candle set is a perfect example and wouldn’t it look beautiful on a coffee table?

For information on how this is made, click on the picture to visit Sweet Paul's blog.

How about something that’s simple and you can easily make with only a printer, paper and scissors? Mibo Studio provides with a simple and beautiful Advent Calendar you can download from their website.

From Mibo Stuido

Perhaps you are looking for something that will satisfy your sweet tooth? I know mine is always nagging at me to fufill it’s needs. Here is another adorable advent calendar from Sweet Paul. I might start using matches so I will have enough empty matchboxes to make this next year.

Another lovely advent calendar from Sweet Paul.

How about all of you? How are you celebrating or marking the first of December and the rest of the days before Christmas?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 9:36 pm

    These are darling advent calendars. I have taken too long to choose one so I am a day behind already. 🙂 This is going to be my first year using one with my little boy.

  2. December 2, 2009 7:25 am

    My mom would always get one of those chocolate Advent calendars and the four of us siblings would take turns opening a window each morning in order, from oldest to youngest. Now she just bought one for my nephew who’s only a few weeks old, so the chocolate will probably go to my brother and sister-in-law!

  3. December 2, 2009 11:54 am

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE advent wreaths. We used to have one in our church and would celebrate the four weeks with candles lit for: hope (purple), love (purple), joy (rose) and peace (purple). Such a wonderful tradition!

  4. December 3, 2009 5:25 pm

    these are so sweet, I have been looking for one to replace our current one (my son thinks it’s now a little too baby-ish).
    Thanks

  5. aerussell permalink*
    December 9, 2009 1:36 pm

    Jessica – Oh how exciting! I tried using one with my cat but he didn’t seem to interested. I’m sure you’re boy will love using one.

    Alison – I have a chocolate one that I share with my boyfriend. They’re fun!

    SaraKate – I concure!

    Suvarna – That is the problem when kids grow up, they start having their own ideas. haha!

Leave a Reply

