Skip to content

Soft Molasses Cookies

November 26, 2009

It’s getting into the time when my desire to bake is on an all-time high. I just adore cookies, and if they are Christmas cookies, then that is even better! Some friends and I regularly hold a cookie exchange for the holiday season, which is lovely fun. I’m trying to decide on what to make for it this year. Last year I made Italian Sprinkle Cookies, and I’ll be making them again this year anyway ’cause they are so delicious, but I want to do something different for the cookie exchange. I’m thinking of these little beauties – Molasses Cookies.

Since I was little my mom has made these cookies every winter. They so soft and melt in your mouth delicious! When I moved to Vancouver and started working here, I made these cookies and took them to work. Homemade cookies brought to the workplace, or school or anything of the sort, are a great way to meet new people and give them a good first impression of you. Ah, the friends I’ve made over homemade cookies. So, without further ado, here is the recipe!

Soft Molasses Cookies

Makes: 3 dozen cookies.

Ingredients:

½ cup of butter, softened

½ cup of solid vegetable shortening (not margarine)

1 ½ cup sugar

½ cup molasses

2 eggs, lightly beaten

4 cups of flour

½ tsp salt

2 ¼ tsp baking soda

2 ¼ tsp ground ginger

1 ½ tsp ground cloves

1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon

In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter, shortening and sugar until light-coloured and fluffy. Beat in molasses and eggs; set mixture aside. In another large bowl, combine flour (no need to sift), salt, baking soda, ginger, cloves and cinnamon. Blend thoroughly with wire whisk. Gradually mix flour into creamed ingredients until dough is blended and smooth. Roll dough into 1 ½ inch balls. Dip tops in granulated sugar (or roll whole ball in sugar); place 2 ½ inch apart on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350°F for 11 minutes *Do not over bake!* Cool on wire rack. Store in tightly covered container to maintain softness.

Freezes well.

NOTE: When mixing the flour, the dough sometimes ends up feeling crumbly, like there is too much flour in it. Don’t worry, just grab a handful and roll it into a ball, or mash it, squish it, whatever. Perhaps this means I’m doing something wrong with the recipe, but no one has complained yet, quite the opposite, so I guess it’s all good.

The end result is a cookie that’s a bit harder on the outside and soft and chewy in the middle. Mmmmm… so good!

What Christmas cookies or winter cookies are your favorites? Do you bake the same every year or try and mix it up?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2009 8:05 pm

    haha, yeah, i love obscure words. ignoramus. it’s such fun to say! these cookies look so good! i used to make molasses cookies all the time, but i haven’t in a long while… you’ve given me an itch, though. now i just really want some cookies!

  2. aerussell permalink*
    December 9, 2009 1:37 pm

    That’s the whole reason I bake, so then I can eat the cookies!

Leave a Reply

