Skip to content

Quiet Kind of Moments

December 9, 2009

I remember exactly what I was feeling as I took this picture.  I felt at peace, that all was right with the world. I felt so content and happy with this knowledge of universal right-ness (for lack of a better word), even though I really had no proof of it, and even though my life at the time was pretty crazy and not always in a good way. The feeling was so sure though, that still, two months later (though I just got around to uploading it), I remember that feeling with such vividness.

It’s a good feeling to remember and to feel, especially in these hectic holiday times.  Sometimes it feels like we’re too caught up in making the perfect holiday that we don’t take the time to enjoy it. We find ourselves baking, cooking, cleaning, decorating, and planning for work parties, friends, family, visiting, traveling… goodness the list goes on! For me, this year is more toned down than other years, at least so far. In a couple of weeks M. and I will be flying out (with our cat) to visit my parents up north and then I’m sure it will be much more busy.

Until then, I’m loving the slow and unhurried kinds of celebrating. Like making Christmas cookies (’cause baking is my destressor) and cranking the Christmas tunes and subsequently dancing around in the kitchen to “Jingle Bell Rock”. Or taking time to put up our tiny Christmas tree with M. and each of us sharing stories about our ornaments and their pasts or chasing the cat around the apartment to get back an ornament he thought was tasty, and then sipping hot chocolate all three of us cuddled on the couch watching hockey. These are the moments that are special to me at Christmas time.  In these quiet, simple times, I feel again that peace I had when I took this photo.

How about you all? What are your favorite quiet Christmas moments?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    December 9, 2009 5:34 pm

    ….alll I can think is that looks delicious and I really want a chai latte now. Sounds like you’re having a good time this season 🙂

  2. youngromantic permalink
    December 10, 2009 12:53 pm

    Sitting inside while the snow fell outside, curled up on the couch reading “The Berenstein Bears Meet Santa Bear.” I did that every year as a kid. Couldn’t get enough of that book!

    I also enjoy a good candelight Christmas Eve service or Mass, even though I haven’t been to one in years. There’s just something about being dressed in your Sunday best, holding a candle that’s dripping hot wax onto your fingers, and singing “Oh Holy Night” with other churchgoers in a darkened sanctuary. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

