Skip to content

List #25 – A Wedding To-do List.

November 16, 2010

It feels more like winter than fall outside now. Even on the rare sunny days the chill in the air is unmistakable. I’ve finished harvesting my herbs and moved them all closer to the house to protect them from the elements.  We’ve switched to our thicker duvet, and pulled out all the warm sweaters and blankets out of the closets.  Christmas parties are starting in a couple of weeks and plans for Christmas are already in full swing. With the way time is flying by these days, a scary thought has entered my mind.

I am getting married in 7 1/2 months.

Okay, that’s not so scary, more really really exciting. The scary thought is this:

I have to plan the rest of my wedding in 7 1/2 months!!!

THAT thought scares me silly and can cause panic attacks.

I haven’t talked much about wedding planning here, ’cause I don’t really want this to turn into a wedding blog, but indulge me a bit today as I try and wrap my brain around everything that is left to do.

List #25 – Things to do for the wedding before the end of 2010.

1. Start working out. – I should have started this ages ago, but I’m lazy lazy lazy. I’m thinking of getting Dance Dance Revolution as a way to make the working out fun. Or a really good aerobics DVD. I’m taking suggestions!

2. Start my DIY projects – I plan to make pinwheels, bunting banners, have a very unique style guest book, create my own centerpieces and have some fun signs telling guests where to go for various activites.

3. Finish Designing the invitations – yeah, I want to do that myself too.

4. Book a block of rooms for guests to stay in – found the perfect place, just need to finalize how many rooms to reserve and for how long.

5. Finalize the Guest list – ’cause I don’t want to think about it any more!

6. Work out details with company providing bar service – Due to who has the liquor license at the venue, we have to use a particular vendor for bar service, but not for food.  They’re already booked, but I need to ask them a few questions.

7. Start working on gift registry with M. – We’re not registering for household items, we’re registering for our honeymoon, a trip back to Rome (so excited!). So obviously, it takes a bit more planning to figure out what we want to do when we go back there. We’re hoping to use an online honeymoon registry so people can put money towards specific parts of the vacation, to make it a bit more personal than just throwing the money in a bit pot.

and last but not least…

8. Organize the Pot Luck Reception – There is a chance I might be crazy, but we’ve decided to have a potluck reception. Well, part potluck/part bbq reception. The main entrée, bbq’d steak and some bbq’d veggies will be provided by us, but we’ll be asking people to bring salads, appetizer trays, and desserts for our dessert table (in lieu of a cake). I’ve had mostly positive reactions from the people in the wedding party and other friends we’ve talked to about it. But one thing they all say is “That’s going to take a lot of organization.” Yes it will, ’cause I’m a sucker for pain.

Wow… laying all that out in a list here, I think it actually helped ease my mind a bit and suddenly it all seems manageable. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this before, especially considering how much I love lists.  If you don’t mind dear readers, perhaps I’ll post a couple of times a month with some wedding info just to help me organize my brain and so you all can keep me accountable. Please post in the comments and let me know what you’d think about a wedding post twice a month.

I hope your weekends were all wonderful and that you have fun plans for this coming week. 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 1:23 pm

    Seems like a lot, but you’ll do it!
    Gorgeous photograph!

  2. November 17, 2010 7:49 pm

    I think it is absolutely fine and interesting! Our wedding consisted of of 6 of our friend and us going to City Hall in Manhattan. I can’t imagine planning a big to-do so I find it fascinating! Sounds like you have a lot of great ideas and that you’re totally on top of it all! Good luck! 🙂

  3. November 18, 2010 8:56 pm

    I’m so over my head in this wedding planning thing, and the invitations I want to do myself as well. It’s overwhelming to look at this stuff online! Best wishes on your future marriage!

  4. Ashley Erin permalink*
    November 19, 2010 12:31 pm

    Thanks so much Lisa, Juli and Public! I need all the moral support I can with this sometimes. 🙂

  5. November 21, 2010 5:04 pm

    Lists are a good thing. I wish you the best in preparations. I love the photo.

  6. November 23, 2010 2:29 pm

    Gorgeous picture! That’s quite a list but you’ll get through it. Just think of them individually rather than all together. Or else it could probably feel pretty overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

