Skip to content

August Break and List #14 – Guilty Pleasures

August 11, 2010

My Guilty Pleasures

  • Celebrity gossip blogs – They seem to relieve my stress
  • Funny pictures of cats and videos of cats – really, who can resist! I mean check this one out of this cat who can’t jump or this cat on a turntable, or this one… or this one (needs sound)…  Okay. I’ll stop now.
  • Buying lipstick- specifically lipstick in various shades of red.
  • Kit kat bars – they are my I-had-a-rough-trip-on-the-bus treat
  • Powdered donuts – I get them like once a year. They are SO good
  • Pastries and Cupcakes – yes, a lot of these are food related. Not that I feel guilty about eating, but these are special treats for me
  • Ambrosia apples – they are so delicious! Like honey… hard to find too.
  • soft and cuddly blankets – because who doesn’t love them! I have one on the bed, one on the chair, one on the couch. Must get one for the office now.
  • toys for my cat – I love to spoil the little bugger.
  • Bubble Baths – I don’t have them nearly enough.

I don’t necessarily feel ‘guilty’ about each of these things (except the gossip blogs, I feel shame and embarrassment there.) But they are all things that I tend to use as rewards for myself for… whatever. Sometimes it’s a simple as getting up that morning, or maybe I just had a tough day, or I finished a big project at work, or some part of the wedding planning is done (hahaha! not anytime soon!).

So how about you, friends? Do you have gulity pleasures or things you reward yourself with? Are they material things or the gift of time? Please share them in the comments!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 8:36 am

    Cake. Chocolate mousse, strawberry shortcake, blueberry buckle, you name it. I couldn’t think of any others but then I remembered HAIR GOO. That’s a guilty one, moreso than cake because it’s expensive and doesn’t really actually help my hair situation.

  2. Ashley Erin permalink*
    August 12, 2010 8:58 am

    Marina – Oh I didn’t even think of hair products! Every once in a while I buy something horribly expensive to try and give my hair more body… so far I’ve had very little success. So then I usually indulge in one of my other guilty pleasures to help myself forget about my hair. 😀

  3. August 12, 2010 5:55 pm

    Sometimes I watch dreadful reality shows on Bravo.

  4. Ashley Erin permalink*
    August 12, 2010 6:15 pm

    Oooo! If I had any channels other than uber basic, I would probably watch reality shows once in a while too. Like America’s Top Model, mostly because I like to watch the photoshoots.

  5. August 15, 2010 2:51 pm

    wonderful list Ashley, lets see…..
    watching old sci-fi series, the cornier the better
    going to the farmers markets at Granville Island and Riley Park Community Centre
    Terra Breads blueberry bread (to die for!)
    thrifting, in all parts of the world
    buying film, especially the polaroid kind
    buying old cameras, especially the polaroid kind
    buying photography books
    snuggling on the couch with my guys
    and chocolate!

Leave a Reply

