Skip to content

Wishing and Happiness

September 9, 2009

Susannah Conway, one of my favorite Polaroid photographers, (whose Unravelling course I plan to take as soon as I have the money) posted a wonderful list of wishes today on her blog, Ink on my Fingers. It was so inspiring and so inline with some of the magical feelings I’ve been feeling lately, that I decided to make a list of wishes of my own!

I wish to be able to see the beauty in the rain, and not just dread going outside because it’s wet; I wish to spend every night curled up next to my love, M. , for the rest of my life; I wish for courage to take my photography out of the realm of  ‘just for me’ and put it on the world stage; I wish for another trip to Italy, as well as to see more of Europe; I wish for snow at Christmas time; I wish for more wonderful evenings out with my wonderful friends here, like last night at the art gallery with Kat; I wish for tiramisu, and a lack of guilt in wishing for tiramisu; I wish for more baking experiments and more cookies, cakes, breads and such to fill our pantry; I wish for more polaroid film and an SX-70; I wish for self discovery and new adventures in life; I wish for the ability to see the beauty in everything; I wish to spend more time writing and getting back to the part of me that was always making up some kind of story; I wish for a little space to call my own office (it’ll come, just takes time!); I wish for those who I know who are sick, sad, or in pain to heal and that I might somehow be able to help, if only to make them smile; I wish for a reunion with all my girlfriends from highschool so we can laugh about old times and share eachothers new experiences, joys and challenges with each other; I wish books, because one can never ever read enough; I wish for luck in new endevors and for patience and strength in dealing with old challenges.

Oh goodness, I’m so emotional today, I’m breaking down into tears just writing this. I feel like yesterday and today are a turning point, so many bad things have happened in the last year, and I know I’ve had a hard time moving out from under their shadow. But today it feels like the sun is shining on me (despite the downpour outside), and that some things aren’t as unattainable as I thought. Mostly, happiness and joy and feeling fulfilled in life. There are various reasons for this feeling of good change on the horizon, but one of them is a blog I just found called The Happiness Project. I spent alot of time last night and this morning reading through old posts on there and it just resonated with me. Sometimes I forget that life is about the journey, not the destination, that happiness is a choice, and that I’m not alone in wanting to be happy, and most importantly, that it’s not BAD to be happy! This blog, by the very talented Gretchen Rubin, helped me shift my perspective a bit and encouraged me to take on my own happiness project in my life. So Gretchen, if you’re reading this, thank you.

And to all of you out there, I wish you all happiness and that all your wishes come true.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 10:56 am

    such a lovely list! i wish for all your wishes to come true 🙂

  2. September 16, 2009 6:36 am

    Hi Ashley- I saw the nice mention of my blog, The Happiness Project, here. I very much appreciate those kind words and you shining a spotlight on my blog! Thanks and best wishes, Gretchen Rubin

Leave a Reply

