Skip to content

Tulips and Treads

May 13, 2011

As of tomorrow there is only three weeks left until my wedding. I’m both extremely excited and a nervous wreck. It seems like just yesterday I was at the three-month mark, and now… only three weeks!

I keep asking M. to tell me that everything will be fine and everything will get done in time. He will then take my hand and kiss it and say just that. It always sounds so reassuring coming from him.

In between final fittings, printing out ceremony programs,  and trying to nail down how we want each and every wall to be decorated (in case we need to delegate the decorating), I’ve managed to get out and take a few photos. I’ve noticed that when I go out and take photos, my stress level goes down and my cheerfulness level goes up. I think I need to make a point of going out to take a few photos every day just to maintain my sanity.

The photos above aren’t actually ones that have been taken recently, they’re from March and I just finished off the roll and got it developed this past week. By chance when I was going through the roll and selecting pictures to scan, I put these two side by side  in the “to scan” pile. Then I noticed that they look really nice together. Normally when I create diptychs I tend to plan them out in my head and often use two photos taken during the same shoot. But these were taken on totally different days in completely different weather and yet they seem like they were made for each other. Funny the things you find by accident.

I’m picking up a couple of more rolls of film today, so hopefully I can share more film photos with you soon!

Happy Friday the 13th everyone and I hope you have a lovely weekend!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 1:10 pm

    not like you haven’t probably heard this before, but though the wedding day is special the real special time comes after the I-dos. It will perfect and whatever happens will be etched in your memory. If it’s good you’ll smile and if it’s not good, well, you will eventually be able to laugh.
    I hope your day will be wonderful and full of light and hope and people you love.
    gorgeous shots, film is so not dead.
    xo

  2. May 13, 2011 3:01 pm

    Tulips & bicycles are the best! Beautiful diptych. A happy weekend to you…I hope you find some time to relax and take some photos!

  3. May 15, 2011 11:20 am

    Love the diptych. They DO work well together!

    Hope your wedding day is totally fun and absolutely low stress. It’s your day, enjoy it! I’m expecting to see photos here by the way….

  4. Hannah permalink
    May 15, 2011 1:43 pm

    I had to look again, I thought it was just one photo!

  5. May 16, 2011 7:33 am

    what a wonderful time, yet i am sure it seems all overwhelming.
    it is amazing how a wedding day comes together but more so what you remember most after that day and that is what makes it so special.

  6. Ashley Erin permalink*
    May 18, 2011 12:40 pm

    Thank you so much Suvarna for your wonderful encouragement! 😀

  7. Ashley Erin permalink*
    May 18, 2011 12:41 pm

    Thanks you so much Juli! I hope you get some nice relaxing in too.

  8. Ashley Erin permalink*
    May 18, 2011 12:41 pm

    Thanks Leonie! I will most certainly share photos with everyone here. I think I would be a bad blogger if I didn’t!

  9. Ashley Erin permalink*
    May 18, 2011 12:42 pm

    Hannah – I’m so sneaky! 😉

  10. Ashley Erin permalink*
    May 18, 2011 12:43 pm

    Nadia – It is amazing how everything is coming together. I can hardly believe that in just over two weeks I’ll be looking back on it rather than forward to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

