Skip to content

List #26 – Surprises from 2010

December 17, 2010

The old year is almost over, a mere two weeks away, the new year waits, poised to announce itself in all its glory.

What do you expect from that year? What plans do you have? What dreams do you hope will be fufilled? These questions are asked alot during this time, they quiver with expectation and hope. But I’m not quite ready to let go of the old year yet, so I’m not going to ask those questions. Instead, I will ask: What surprised you about this past year? What happened that you didn’t expect? What small impulsive thing has made it’s mark in your memory? Here’s a few of mine:

10 things that I wasn’t expecting about 2010

1. I went to a fortune teller to have my palm read for the first time ever. Apparently I have a very old soul.

2. I participated in the first walk for pledges fundraiser that I’ve done since elementary school. It was lots of fun and for an excellent organization that helps save cats and kittens (Vancouver Orphan Kitten Rescue Society).

3. I met up with some other bloggers and polaroid photographers from around town. While this was something had wanted to do for a while, it was still a surprise when I actually met them.

4. I touched a starfish in it’s natural habitat. I grew up in the prairies, to me, starfish are freaking awesome.

5. I was awed and amazed with the beautiful film that The Impossible Project came out with. While I did know this was coming, I couldn’t have predicted or guessed how much joy I felt when it actually happened.

6. I grew tomatoes. Though I have successfully being growing herbs for 2 years, it surprised me that I managed to grow something more.

7. I tried and fell in love with shooting medium format film.

8. One of my close friends had a baby and I have completely fallen in love with her, I haven’t even met her yet!

9. We moved. Again, this was something we knew would have to happen, but when it actually happens, it’s always a surprise.

10. All of you! I’m constantly surprised and so thankful for all your wonderful comments here on my blog. Thank you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 9:56 am

    This is such a great post!! Great way of rounding up the year xx

  2. December 22, 2010 11:19 am

    just stumbled upon your blog. great stuff!

    major ditto to number 7 on your list. 🙂

  3. January 4, 2011 11:04 am

    So glad to have met you again Ashley, that was a great surprise for me too. Thanks for the lovely card.

Leave a Reply

