Skip to content

1920’s Flapper Transformation

November 9, 2010

It’s a bit after Halloween, but costume makeup is good anytime, right?

This past halloween I went as a 1920’s flapper. In an effort to be as authentic as possible, and just because I wanted to, I looked up a few tutorials on proper 1920’s makeup styles.  Thanks to a fantastic youtube video, and a helpful tutorial page, I think I did not to bad for a first try with real costume makeup.

*Note: This is not a tutorial so much as my experiences with it. For real tutorials, please see the links above.

 

1. Me, pre-makeup.

2. Because the shape of the eyebrows in the 1920’s is so distinctive, and my eyebrows do not conform, I decided to use eyebrow plastic to cover up my eyebrows so that I could cover them more easily with foundation.

3. Face, eyebrows and lips covered with foundation. I put it on quite a bit heavier than normal to help achieve the pale look of the 1920’s.

4. One Eyebrow

5. Two eyebrows. They came out a bit thicker than I would have liked, I think they’re supposet to be thinner.

6. Eye makeup, mainly browns and blacks. The smokey eye look was sort of generated in the 20’s, but from what I read, one of the big differences is that today we tend to swoop alot of shadow and line out at the outside of the eye (think slightly Egyptian style), where as then, it was consentrated more around the inside of the eye and closer to the nose.

7. Blush and the outline for the lips, they’re quite a specific shape then, called a cupid’s bow.

8. Lips filled in with lipstick. Makeup complete!

And here’s the final look! (Photo taken by a friend at the party.)

A few friends told me that they didn’t recognized me at first. And isn’t that the point of a costume?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 6:03 am

    You look fabulous!!

  2. Ashley Erin permalink*
    November 16, 2010 10:19 am

    Thanks Juli! 😀

  3. November 16, 2010 10:46 pm

    How interesting! I love the progression of pictures.

Leave a Reply

