Skip to content

Seasonal Nesting

October 20, 2010

My mind right now is full of rustic feelings and thoughts. I dream of curling up in a big, warm grey blanket and sipping tea in a log cabin out of handmade mugs and watching the autumn sun set.  I want to each squash and soups and food that’s steaming and warm.  It’s only October, but my mind is gearing me up for winter.

In my city, there are many leaves that are still green and clinging with much vigor to the tree branches. Even the winter rains haven’t come yet with the ferocity of other years. But they will be coming. I’ve found myself browsing stores in search of warm sweaters and socks.  I’m planning on pulling out our winter mittens and hats this week.  I’ve even emailed the landlord to see about getting our fireplace to work.  If I was a bear this would be called preparation for hibernation. But I’m not a bear. I’m not really hibernating, nesting perhaps, a kind of seasonal nesting and preparation for colder months.

Another kind of preparation is going on in my mind too… the kind that will hopefully culminate in the next month or so.  I can’t say much more yet, but ideas are brewing and bubbling.

How are you preparing for the winter, dear readers?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 2:43 pm

    i am also in the nesting and in that quiet place of notebook scrawls across a blank page as i pull out the woollens and the slippers and wrap grey across my shoulders and contemplate snowshoes and mittens and exchanging the container of umbrellas with toques and scarves 🙂 its all simmering soups and my autumn version of spring cleaning and last weekend i even rounded up all the outside furniture and bits and secured them safely in the garage.

  2. October 20, 2010 8:01 pm

    Here in California, I don’t have to do much to prepare for winter, since our winters are so mild. I am, however, going to break out my winter clothes and start putting away my summer ones this weekend. Although I wish I could do something as nice as preparing a fireplace for winter… no fireplaces here! :*(

  3. Ashley Erin permalink*
    October 21, 2010 1:01 pm

    Darlene – There is something so satisfying in this change over of seasons… I just love it!

    Jacqueline – Our winters are pretty mild too (compared to where I grew up), but even the slight temperature drops has me reaching for extra blankets. 🙂

  4. October 25, 2010 12:00 pm

    In very much the same way. Pulling out all those winter clothes, trying to adjust to the fewer hours of daylight, and looking forward to the fireplace!

Leave a Reply

