Skip to content

Rainy Inspirations

October 4, 2010

The sun has been winning the war of weather lately. I’ve been soaking it up as much as I can, but I know sooner or later (likely sooner) the sun will hide behind clouds of grey and rain that will last from November to March.  These grey and rainy West Coast (or as we like to call it, the ‘wet’ coast) winters take a lot out of me. I’m a solar-powered person, I thrive on sunshine and blue skies. Constant grey, in a city where all the buildings are grey and most people wear dark coloured clothes in winter, it all just becomes so dark and a bit depressing.

It’s also something that I struggle with photographically. It’s hard to make the mental switch when I’m looking through my viewfinder. Often I don’t even pick up the camera because I know I won’t get the photos that are in my head, the ones filled with sunlight. In an effort to take more photographs this fall and autumn, I’ve started a gallery on Flickr with rainy day photographs that I find. Some of them have gotten me excited for the rain and given me some neat ideas; like maybe shooting more in black and white, or more shots of neon lights reflected in puddles.

Do you have troubles shooting photos when it’s grey and rainy out? Or do you thrive on it?

Also, if you have any favorite rainy day photos, let me know! I’d love to see what inspires you!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 11:14 pm

    Beautiful capture

  2. October 5, 2010 5:07 am

    Most definitely. For me, I just don’t like the cold weather, and it gets brutally cold here come December and January. The lack of color is also a definite factor. Last winter, I did not use my camera much at all, but this year I am going to make a lot more of an effort. Never know what I might find, if I don’t look.

  3. October 5, 2010 12:58 pm

    I don’t mind rainy days if they are warm.. and as long as i am wearing appropriate clothing, though I am like you and am definitely solar powered! That being said, someone once told me to always have my camera handy when the rain stops as you never know what you might see. I found a couple of dudes in Rome out selling umbrellas while we were there, which was very entertaining (notice that the guy trying to sell the umbrellas is NOT using one of them)

    I picked up a beautiful red leaf off the sidewalk close by where i live today and then came here to see it’s cousin smiling back at me.

    Oh, and i was thinking about you the other day when i took the lens off my camera and tried some freelensing as i remember you mentioning you were going to try it as part of the August break – would love to know how you got on…..

  4. October 5, 2010 9:54 pm

    I just came across your blog, and it’s lovely. 🙂

    I am also on the west coast (San Francisco area) but for me, photography is easier when it’s gray out. I love the sun but I struggle to take photos in harsh lighting. And as for rain — I heard a quote once, something like “to a photographer, rain can change a scene from a Hallmark card to a Dostoevsky novel.”

    This is one of the photos I took after the rain: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pink_scarf/4282836311/in/set-72157616062586663/

  5. Ashley Erin permalink*
    October 7, 2010 11:54 am

    Kimberly – thanks so much!

    Lisa – I agree. Getting out there and looking is half the battle sometimes.

    Leonie – I did try some free lensing but I haven’t had much luck with it yet. I think I need to put the camera on a tripod, ’cause I don’t have enough hands to do it free hand!

    Jacqueline – that is such a beautiful quote! And I do love a good Dostoevsky novel… I think I will keep that quote in my head next time I shoot in the rain. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

