Skip to content

List #21 – Things I love about Autumn

September 14, 2010

Thanks so much to everyone who sent me little get well messages this past week! You’re all the sweets readers anyone could wish for!

I was out of commission for a bit longer than I had anticipated, as of today I am more the less recovered. The first cold of the fall always hits me so hard.  And yes, I know it’s not quite (officially) fall yet, but what with that extra chill in the mornings, being sick, hot chocolate in the evenings and making plans for thanksgiving, it sure is starting to feel like fall. The leaves are already starting to change too! So, in honour of fall, here is a list of things I like best about this beautiful season.

Things I love about Autumn:

  • The colours of the leaves
  • The fall fashion, I just love the chunky sweaters, patterned scarves, stylish gloves and the whole colour palette that comes with it.
  • drinking chai latte’s at my favorite cafe
  • the coziness of the evenings, with the light disappearing earlier it just feels right to be curled up on the sofa at home with a mug of hot chocolate
  • The harvest of my herbs (and this year tomatoes) that grew all summer and preparing them to be dried, frozen, etc for use throughout the winter.
  • The way fall feels like a new start, a new year.
  • I love the light of a fall morning, there is something about it, a certain slant to it, a cool blueness to it, that is different from the light in summer. (interestingly enough, I think the light in the evenings of spring has a similar quality as the morning light in fall).
  • Thanksgiving, the food, the family, the desserts. Mostly the desserts. 😉
  • Baking season starts in earnest. I don’t bake throughout the summer, I just find it too hot. By the time fall comes around, I’ve missed it so much and I can’t wait to start!

I think autumn is one of my favorite seasons, probably tied with spring.  What are your favorite things about autumn?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 1:08 pm

    Switching from iced coffee back to the hot stuff. 🙂

  2. September 14, 2010 1:50 pm

    I think my favorite thing about autumn is that in a month or so, the Christmas preparations start. It’s always a lot of work, but so worth it.
    This is a great shot!

  3. September 14, 2010 10:00 pm

    Wet leaves may not seem like it smells pretty, but I love wet leaves. That means I get to wear boots and sweaters finally.

  4. Ashley Erin permalink*
    September 15, 2010 2:26 pm

    Kimberly – I do enjoy going from cold drinks back to hot. Something very cozy about it.

    Lisa – Oh I do so love Christmas! I do get a bit excited knowing that fall means it’s that much closer.

    Diana – I’ve never thought about it before, but I do kind of love wet leaves. The way they stick in the gutters and to playground equipment… very moody. Also, I LOVE pulling out my boots and sweaters again.

  5. September 16, 2010 7:13 am

    yes! sweaters and scarves and goodies like that. i’ve been dressing a bit too cozy for the weather this week…its not quite cold enough yet!

    and chai lattes. lets go to a cafe and have one of those together! its been so long since our last hang out!

Leave a Reply

