Skip to content

List #20 – Things I Learned in School

August 30, 2010

The start of another school year is a mere week away. While that doesn’t affect my immediate life, I still remember only 5 short years ago when this time would have been filled with excitment, anticipation, and of course, new school supplies. Honestly, I have to say, the worst part of not going to school is the lack reason to by new stationary supplies.  Other than fond memories of new pencils, school gave me all kinds of skills that I use to this very day. So if kids ever think that school is worthless, then this list is for them!

Things I Learned in Elementary School That I Still Use

  • How to fold letters
  • How to give positive comments to other
  • That everyone is good at something
  • How to do long division, addition and subtraction
  • How to use a camera
  • How to read music
  • How to read and how to write and how to imagine
  • How to play well with others
  • The importance of including people

What did you learn in school that you still use or value?

For August Break and 52 Lists

2 Comments leave one →
  1. youngromantic permalink
    September 3, 2010 8:12 am

    Oh man, I totally miss back-to-school shopping. That was my favourite part of going back to school in September: getting the list of things you need to buy and then going to Staples or Office Depot or Walmart and loading up on new gear! We always shopped early, so I’d keep all my school supplies out on display in my room. I was a nerd like that. Anyway, I was at Dollarama yesterday and was filled with nostalgia looking at the rows and rows of shiny new school supplies, so I bought myself some notebooks and pretty pencils, just ‘cuz.

    One of the biggest lessons I learned in grade school was that we all have our strengths and weaknesses. I was in grade 3, and feeling bummed that my best friend Rachel was good at EVERYTHING — one of those well-rounded, straight-A students that excelled at everything she tried. I was good at some things (English, Grammar, Art) and terrible at others (Math, Science, Gym). My grade 3 teacher took me out in the hall when I had burst in tears over fumbling a math problem in front of the whole class (and they all laughed, little bastards!) and I was crying and telling her I wished I could be good at everything like Rachel. She then drew a straight line with her finger on the wall and explained, “People like Rachel who are good at everything are boring … they’re straight lines.” Then she made a line that went up and down and said, “But you’re interesting … you’re a curvy line because you’re good at some things and need help in others.”

    Sorry for the long ramble … I’ve just never forgotten that lesson!

  2. September 4, 2010 6:14 am

    that is a great list Ashley! I definitely still know how to fold a letter as well as how to pull scotch-tape out far enough but not so far that it won’t stick to each other and the table. Silly little things really but they’ve definitely stuck with me. Unfortunately, I have forgotten how to do long division on paper. I can do it in my mind but it takes me longer to figure out whether I am writing it correctly or not. haha

Leave a Reply

