Skip to content

Mystery Book – The one that got away

August 17, 2010

(We interrupt this August Break for a Breaking News Cast)

I don’t remember when I read it, I don’t even remember if it was that good.  I don’t remember much of the plot or the characters. But I still remember the book. I remember the cover art and I remember that it was about a girl on a strange planet whose family was kidnapped by aliens. And even that memory has been pieced together over years of little flashes that come to me in dreams or when I’m not looking for. This was the book I remembered but couldn’t find. I didn’t know who wrote it or what it was called or even everything that it was about, yet I still remembered reading it.

For years I have been looking for this book. I’ve caught glimpses of its story when I am dreaming or suddenly when I’m in the kitchen. I think I was in elementary school when I read it, possibly for a book report? I remember scenes where the main character is sneaking around and trying to hide from the aliens. Mostly I gave up on the book as being lost to the past. But then along came Google and every once in a while I would try and find it. At first I thought it was set on Mars, which turned out to be a bit of red herring and left me frustrated as I couldn’t find any books that sounded similar.

Then the other night I remembered that the family of the main character was kidnapped.  So I type into Google “mars novel family kidnapped by aliens”.  It’s late, I shouldn’t be looking this up, but I click through the links and see if anything triggers more memory.  By chance I clicked a link to an educational site that suggests books to be read in the classroom and for projects.  I saw one titled “Space Trap” with a main character named “Valerie” and drew in a gasp. It felt to good to be true, could this really be it? I typed the title and the authors name into amazon and found the cover art. That was when I knew it was true.  It’s probably been close to 20 years since I read this book and it’s been haunting the back of my mind for at least the past 10, and now I know it’s name, it’s author and could even order it used if I wished.

So here it is: Space Trap by Monica Hughes, the book I couldn’t find has been found.

Do you have a book or poem or some piece of literature that you have a memory of, but can’t remember enough to find it again? Thanks to the internet, here are some tips on possible ways to find it, as well as a whole site where you share your mystery book and help others find their mystery books. Of course, feel free to share your stories in the comments, perhaps I or someone else here has read that book and can help!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 2:38 pm

    I totally have a mystery book! A fictional novel that I read sometime in the late 90’s that was loosely based on or related to Alice and Wonderland. I remember really enjoying it, but I can’t for the life of me remember what it was called or who is was by. I think it was just a random find while browsing at the library. Every once in awhile I search for it on the internet but never have any luck. So happy that you found yours!

  2. August 17, 2010 11:57 pm

    Love your photos!
    Hugs Gunilla in Singapore

  3. August 18, 2010 5:36 pm

    What a neat website for getting help on finding a book title! Yay! that you found yours too.

  4. Ashley Erin permalink*
    August 30, 2010 4:46 pm

    Thanks so much for the lovely comments everyone!

Leave a Reply

