Skip to content

The August Break

July 22, 2010

Come August, I’m going to be trying something new out for the blog.  It’s part of a blog summer project started by the lovely Susannah Conway called “The August Break”  The essense is not so much a break from blogging, but a break from writing the (inevitable) pressure that all bloggers put on themselves to be world-changing with every post.  Maybe it’s not all bloggers, maybe it’s just me.  🙂

The idea is to post about our August using pictures. Of course, everyone’s take on this will be different and I will probably still post a few written posts. The whole point is that there is no rules, no expectations, just fun! I’m going to be breaking out my digital camera and using it more often in August, though you know I can’t stay away from the film.  There’s a few digital techinques I’ve wanted to try but just haven’t. Things like freelensing, some water splashes, playing with an aperture of  f/16, and other fun stuff like that.

For me, this time will be about doing some blogging thinking and working on make this space that best I can.  In otherwords I’ll be reading a LOT of Problogger.

Do you want to take part in this supper fun experiment? Check out Susannah’s page for the August Break and join up!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 12:26 am

    that sounds like a good idea! I always struggle with words so it would be nice to have an excuse to just put photos up!

  2. July 26, 2010 5:37 pm

    Your photographs are beautiful!

  3. Ashley Erin permalink*
    July 29, 2010 1:21 pm

    Thanks so much Lisa! 🙂

  4. Ashley Erin permalink*
    July 29, 2010 1:22 pm

    I thought the same thing. Sometimes it’s nice to give the words a break.

Leave a Reply

