Skip to content

New Growth for the Garden

May 31, 2010

Hurray for new garden plants!

Admittedly, I got these back in April but only just got the film back from the developers. Still, I am quite happy with my little potted gardens. So far my garden consists of:

–          2 lavender

–          2 rosemary

–          2 sage

–          2 mint

–          1 lemon scented thyme

–          1 silvery thyme

–          1 chives

–          1 catnip

–          1 dwarf rosebush

–          2 cedar trees

–          3 roma tomato plants

–          3 succulents

And most of those are plants from last year that I (amazingly enough) haven’t killed! Those of you with naturally green thumbs might think it’s odd that this causes me so much joy, but I am quite horrible with plants. Most plants I’ve ever had have died. Until this year I don’t think I’ve ever had a plant live more than 6 months, if they even make it to that.  Because most of these are plants that I like to use in cooking, perhaps that was more insentive for me to take care of the plants.

This year, the Tomato plants are the ones I’m worried about. Mostly because I’ve never grown tomatoes before, and also because I bought them more for Mike than for me. I know he likes using fresh tomatoes in cooking, so I thought I would try to grow some. If anyone has any tomatoe tips, I would be very glad to hear them!

Do you have a garden, my lovely readers? Or a single plant that you love to take care of? Tell me what you’re growing this summer!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    June 1, 2010 7:36 am

    Make sure your tomatoes have LOTS of support, or you will have failtomatoes. such pretty garden pics!

  2. Ashley Erin permalink*
    June 2, 2010 2:39 pm

    Good to know! Thanks so much Hannah-love!

  3. June 2, 2010 2:51 pm

    hi ashley! so weird that your comments haven’t shown up. i looked back and haven’t seen anything from you since march 31. wonder what’s going on?
    your garden looks so lovely, thanks for sharing.

  4. June 2, 2010 5:59 pm

    Your plant list is so cool and it looks like they are growing beautifully. I am hoping to grow some tomatoes this summer.

  5. June 4, 2010 8:16 pm

    I hate to say it but I am a gardener and I have a balcony full of dead plants. It’s like that old saying about the cobbler’s children having no shoes, lol. Your plants are looking very healthy I am sure you will have a lovely garden this year.
    🙂

  6. June 5, 2010 8:27 am

    so lovely!
    my garden only consists of things that don’t need me to take care of them!
    as weeding is about all that i can handle!

  7. June 5, 2010 4:22 pm

    I also have rosemary, lavender, mint and various types of thyme. I planted chamomile last year and it’s flourishing! So is the catnip: can’t keep it from coming up all over. I don’t know how it does it! I only grow mint in pots, since it’s so invasive, and have 4 pots of it: & I just cut some to dry for tea. 🙂 Chives are the best: so beautiful when they bloom. Your garden sounds lovely! 🙂

  8. Ashley Erin permalink*
    June 18, 2010 2:58 pm

    Thanks so much for all the lovely comments everyone!

Leave a Reply

