Skip to content

Three Cameras – 1 Subject

May 26, 2010

One situation I seem to constantly find myself in whenever I take photos derives from the fact that I like to carry around a lot of cameras.

And take pictures with each of them, of everything.

So I end up with a lot of photos from different camera’s of the same subject. Often I don’t notice how similar they are until a few weeks later and I’ve gotten the film back and am looking at it trying to decide what to scan. Then I notice that I will have up to three shots of the same object, but all taken with different cameras.

I haven’t decided if this is a good thing or bad thing. Mostly I think it’s a learning thing. As I try out all my different camera’s on the same subject I get to learn their quirks and what they do best.  In science I suppose it could be called an experiment control. After all, when it’s all the same subject matter, then the beauties of each individual film, camera, lense, etc. are more apparent.

Have a look and tell me what you think?

Digital – Canon EOS 400D, 50mm lense, a bit of Photoshop processing.

Medium Format – Seagull TLR with Kodak black and white film, 400 iso

Polaroid – SX-70 with expired 779 film

While I, of course, ADORE the Polaroid, I really like the Medium format shot as well. The digital is, I admit, not my favorite in this set of three, but that has more to do with how I composed the shot than the medium itself.

Here’s another set.

Digital – Canon EOS 400D, 50mm lense. Minor Photoshop processing.

Medium Format – Seagull TLR with Fujifilm colour, 100 iso

Polaroid – SX-70 with Artistic Time Zero Film

With this set, I find that the medium format keeps drawing my attention, really when I got it back from the developer it just blew me away! The digital is also beautiful and has great colour on the blue ribbon. The Polaroid is much more arty, while the other two seem more magazine.

So what does all this tell us about each camera? Well, it’s not a perfectly controlled experiment, but here is my general findings.

Digital – Not to be knocked. It can produce fabulous images, or not so great ones. It’s images are realistic impressions of what it sees, and what we see. Of all the photos here, the digital ones are the ones that most accurately depict what I saw through the lense as I snapped the photos.

Medium Format – It’s all in the details. And that’s what medium format brings to the table. Because the negative is larger, the photos just feel so much more detailed and deep. I don’t think I remember seeing all the fabric threads in the chair or the cracks in the driftwood, but look! There it is! And it makes me go WOW!

Polaroid – It’s about the feeling, ya’know? Polaroid might not capture things exactly how you saw it and it might not have the most detail in its prints, but that sure won’t stop it. It’s like taking a picture of a memory – you never remember things exactly as they were, just an approximate, with somethings standing out and others blending in.

Alright class, homework time! What are your thoughts on this ‘experiment’? What pros, cons, etc. do you see in these photos or your own photos with various cameras?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 6:16 am

    I definitely used to do the same thing. I’d carry my 35mm film camera, a digital point & shoot, and either a Holga or a Polaroid. I agree that it’s a learning process more than anything and sometimes on the rare occasion I actually really like all of the images produced on all the cameras. It definitely helped me learn about how temperamental the Holga can be and how to better frame my Polaroid shots.

    I think the medium format shot of the second subject is definitely my favorite as well. From the lighting to the framing, it’s all there for me.

  2. Ashley Erin permalink*
    June 2, 2010 2:33 pm

    Thanks so much for the comment Lili!

    I like the medium format shot of the chair best too. But I’m still learning so I’ll keep on carrying all my different camera’s around. At least until I get tired of it or my shoulder falls off! 😀

  3. June 12, 2010 9:03 am

    Oh, I love this idea. The lavender ones are especially pretty.

Leave a Reply

