Skip to content

Blanket Making 101

April 26, 2010

This last week feels like a blur. I wish I could say it was because I was busy and had lots of cool things to show you. Sadly it’s because I’ve had such a horrible flu that turned into an ear infection and pretty much had me unable to get out of bed for about 5 days.  Of course one thing that I did manage to do while I was in bed was crochet.

Last fall I had mentioned how I wanted to crochet a blanket. I started actually putting this desire into practice in January when I bought a few rolls of yarn and found a pattern on the internet. Currently my blanket is about the size of a tea towel… but it is growing! It took me a while to find the pattern I wanted, and then a few tries to make it work, but now I’m on a roll!

The pattern is a Sunburst Granny Square pattern. I got the basis for it here. But rather than turning it into a 6″ square I just crochet the first three rounds and then use this technique for joining the circles together as I go along. Then tada! Slowly you get a quilt. I’m using 10 different colours for the circles and joining them with white all around. I’ve been working with a 5.5 hook, and the yarn is a merino wool. It’s turning out a bit chunkier than I had anticipated, but in my book, that just means warmer! So far I love it, and I’m really enjoying the process.

Ages ago when I was in middle school or highschool, I used to crochet. My mom taught me to crochet a wash cloths, but like most things that were typically for girls, I didn’t pursue it very far. Why I had the sudden desire to do it now, I don’t know, but I do know it was tough to learn. The pattern calls for about 6 different kinds of stitches. When I started in January I couldn’t even remember the one I used to make wash cloths. It took a few trials and errors, and a lot of internet searching to figure out how to do somethings (like tying off one colour), but now I don’t even need to look at the steps for the stitches or the pattern. I have it all memorized!

To me, this is just proof that people can learn anything and do anything, but they just have to WANT to do it, to really want to learn or complete whatever it is. Also, that sometimes timing is important. If I had tried to do this when I was in highschool, I don’t think I would have. I just wouldn’t have wanted to and so would have given up after the first struggle. Then I had other things I was more interested in, other skills to learn. Now, obviously, is the right time for this, for me anyways. Everyone’s time is different of course.

How about you, lovely readers? Is there a project you’re working on that you’ve had to learn new skills for, or one perhaps that is waiting in the wings for you to start? Let’s hear them! Sometimes putting the idea out there into the world inspires us to move forward on it.

P.S. Don’t you love my little owl mug! He’s the cutest thing! I call him my Happy Owl Mug. I got him at a store in Vancouver filled with all sorts of interior decorating things, but specializing in things with owls. The store is called Parliament. How awesome is that!!! It makes the nerd in me grin.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 4:59 am

    ooh i’ve always wanted to know how to do that!

    i love the new look. your photography, as always, is stunning.

  2. May 2, 2010 7:05 am

    Love the owl, your blanket looks great, love the colours you have used. I went to Attic 24 and found her granny square pattern – I haven’t done them like that before. Once I finish my current project, I will be trying her pattern as well as the joining the squares as I go.

  3. Ashley Erin permalink*
    May 3, 2010 9:45 pm

    Faux Naif – Thank you for your lovely comment! Learning to crochet wasn’t really as hard as I expected. 🙂

    Marlie – Thanks! I’m glad you liked the link to Attic 24. What project are you currently working on? If you don’t mind my asking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

