Skip to content

Why Film is Awesome

April 21, 2010
tags: , ,

One of the things I love most about film is the fact that you have to wait.

You have to wait for the pictures to be developed before you can see them, before you will know if this test or that trick worked. Of course, with our world of 1 hour photo developing, that waiting period is still pretty short. You can shoot a roll of 35 mm film, drop it off for developing and have it back to you before supper.

That is, unless you’re like me and save up your rolls of exposed film until you have a whole handful to take in. Then, the wait is sometimes about forgetting.Forgetting the pictures you took, the circumstances, where you put the film, finding it again and then finally dropping it off.

Last Friday I got two rolls of 120 film back from being developed and scanned in (by the kind folks at G King Photo here in Vancouver.) I’d started the first roll at the beginning of February, when the trees were just starting to bud, and a few early ones had a couple blooms on them.  When I got the film back, I was walking home under branches heavy with pink blossoms, the third wave of cherry blossom season well under way. To look back at the images I shot two, almost three months ago, it’s like opening a present or a time capsule. Suddenly moments that had been forgotten are remembered and things that are old are new.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. steve permalink
    April 21, 2010 5:18 pm

    I don’t mean to intrude on your blog. I stumbled across it on ‘tag surfer’ and noticed the pictures. I have to say you’ve got some very good photos!

  2. April 21, 2010 6:15 pm

    Oh I ADORE the 3rd shot. Gorgeous, Ashley!

  3. April 22, 2010 10:02 am

    So true! I was just recently able to borrow an old Minolta film camera from the 60s and am trying out some black and white shots. I’m excited to see what emerges, though have some suspicion that I ruined a roll with improper loading! I was trying to explain to my fiance this morning why Polaroids and film still carry value in the age of digital–and I think you’ve hit the nail on the head here.

  4. Ashley Erin permalink*
    April 26, 2010 11:42 am

    Thanks so much for the lovely comments Steve, Amanda and Andrea!

    Andrea, I can’t wait to see what photos you get with the Minolta and your new Polaroid when you get it!

  5. April 26, 2010 12:54 pm

    These are so excellent! I love the texture and layers and colours in your photos a lot.

  6. April 27, 2010 8:40 pm

    Another reason is it saves me so much time. If I go on vacation, i try to use my 35mm Rebel rather than take my digital. I know what photos I’m developing and I know i won’t waste hours going through hundreds of photos trying to edit them. Film does everything for me.

  7. April 29, 2010 6:26 am

    I love film, too. No amount of photoshopping seems to truly replicate it.
    Your images are gorgeous!

  8. Ashley Erin permalink*
    April 29, 2010 2:43 pm

    Thanks so much Alexandria, Diana and Elle!

    Diana – I hadn’t even thought of that! How very true!

    Elle – You’re so right! Nothing can look like film, except film.

Leave a Reply

