Skip to content

Fighting the Wanderlust

March 15, 2010

So last week I took my own advice in order to try and control my wander lust. I got off  the skytrain at a station I don’t normally go to and wandered around and enjoyed a neighbourhood I’ve only been to twice before. It is the neighbourhood of Commercial Drive, a very vibrant and multi-faceted community. I didn’t wander long, and the light was quickly disapearing, but here are some of the photos of my adventerous foray.

A used book store that also sold wooden folk art carvings of all shapes and sizes. I resisted the urge to go in as I knew once I entered the bookstore I would not emerge in time to catch the rest of the neighbourhood in the failing light.

Just off of the Commercial Drive, on a residential side street, I noticed this beautifull carved door and had to take a photo of it.

The architecture on and around Commercial Drive has a much older feel to it than the sleek and modern sky scrapers of downtown. I quite like it.

Commercial Drive also has more Italian resturants, stores, cafe’s bakeries, cheese stores and sports bars than anywhere else in Vancouver. Perhaps I should spend more time there and practice my Italian? Hmm?

How was your weekend dear readers? Did you discover any new places?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 6:33 pm

    I barely ever go to Commercial Drive anymore. Since moving to the west end, I hardly ever venture out! Thanks for the mini adventure 😉

  2. youngromantic permalink
    March 16, 2010 4:00 am

    Now you’ve sparked my wanderlust to go to Vancouver! Gorgeous pictures! I really want to go to that bookstore!

  3. March 16, 2010 9:30 am

    Oh, really nice quality of light… and such a beautiful bookshop sign.

  4. Ashley Erin permalink*
    March 16, 2010 2:48 pm

    Amanda – You’re most welcome! Hopefully I can explore a few more neighbourhoods this summer and then I’ll have a whole Vancouver photo guide! Hahaha!

    Alison – Thanks so much! I just love finding new bookstores. There’s so many neat used bookstores here.

    Ben – Thank you very much for the compliment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

