Skip to content

Follow the Rails….

March 3, 2010

I’ve come down with a small case of something in the last week. And rather than it getting better, it has only gotten worse. I’ve reviewed the symptoms (restlessness, irritable, unable to concentrate, staring longingly at the horizon, checking Expedia for cheap flights just ’cause….) and have decided, with my expert medical opinion, that this can be only one thing.

I have a case of Cabin Fever.

Right now I have such a strong urge to just get up and go somewhere, anywhere, for any length of time, that if it was up to me I probably would have booked the tickets and been gone. Of course, a spontaneous trip is best when accompanied by your best friend. Thankfully (for my credit card) my best friend is a much more realistic human being than I am and he reminds me that going on trips is not in our budget right now.  I pout, but I know he’s right. So instead of going anywhere fun or cool, I think I will try to explore more of the city this weekend… maybe it will FEEL like a different place.

Because I missed doing a list last week (life, far to busy sometimes), here is one list and I’ll try to do another before the end of this week.

Places my Cabin Fever is making me dream about:

San Francisco – Oh to be in San Francisco….. my heart flutters at the very thought.

Montreal – cultural mecca of Canada.

Seattle – it’s RIGHT THERE! Right across the border… but so far away.

Portland – because there are so many talented people from Portland. I think it’s something in the water and I desire to be part of it.

LA – Two friends down there I would love to visit.

Italy – always, always dreaming of Italy

Paris – I’m reading about Shakespeare and Company in Paris, maybe it’s what started this whole cabin fever thing…

England, Scotland, Wales…. Oh I could just go on forever.

Thankfully I will be heading over to the island soon to visit family. The chance for a sunny drive around Victoria and a picturesque walk by the inner harbor is all that’s keeping me sane right now.

Do you ever get Cabin Fever? If so, what do you do about it? I think I might need some coping techniques until I can indulge in my travel fantasy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    March 3, 2010 3:01 pm

    You could always take a skytrain tour. Or get on a totally strange bus route.

  2. March 3, 2010 11:00 pm

    Oh, hun. I’m ALWAYS getting sehnsucht and Fernweh (commonly thought of as wanderlust. Perhaps it’s telling that I cannot even speak of these emotions en anglais!

    Your list amuses me, because of how much of my life and dreams it overlaps with! You must see Montreal, and I’d love to console you with lies about San Francisco in February being awful, but I simply cannot. though, if you wait a year, you might have a place to stay… I, too, long for the Italy I’ve seen and the British Isles I’ve not.

    Hannah’s ideas are good ones though… A couple of weeks ago I took a bus that I had never been on in Victoria and had always wondered where went. It wasn’t overly exciting in that it began and ended in locations I knew well, but I did get the thrill of seeing new houses and corners I’ve never seen before. There’s a certain thrill about knowing that your feet are, in that very moment, touching a bit of earth that they have never yet touched before. I still get that on new corners when I go back to visit Montreal and I’ve loved finding them on my morning runs here on the Island. Also, when you do come to the Island, let me know. I always love to stroll the inner harbour and would LOVE to see you!

  3. March 5, 2010 2:47 pm

    I often get cabin fever, especially in winter. I think exploring different neighbourhoods is an excellent alternative, and if your looking for something different to shoot, try the Little Mountain Cemetery. If it doesn’t bother you, it is very beautiful and peaceful and full of interesting history.

  4. March 9, 2010 5:57 am

    hehe, dreaming of montreal, eh? it’s a swell place, i won’t lie.

    i want to go to some fairly acceptable places – san francisco, seattle, portland – and some rather stranger places… i’m DYING to go to iceland and malta. strange, i know!

  5. Ashley Erin permalink*
    March 16, 2010 2:57 pm

    Hannah – I enjoy getting on different bus routes to take me to the same place, but I don’t usually get on a bus just to see where it goes… hmmm… I shall have to try it.

    Julie – Inner Harbour + you+ me+Easter weekend = A PLAN! I will let you know when we’ll be in town. I haven’t seen you in SOOOO long!

    Suvarna – The Little Mountain Cemetery… is that the huge one near 33rd avenue? I used to live near it and loved talking walks there. I should go again, thanks for reminding me of it!

    Faux Naif – Ooo! Iceland is on my wishlist too. On my really long I want to go EVERYWHERE wish list… 🙂

Leave a Reply

