Skip to content

Welcome to the new and renamed…

February 25, 2010

Aren’t cherry blossoms just the most wonderful thing? Just thinking about them sends feelings of joy and delight racing up my spine.

These cherry blossoms are here to celebrate a turn of events on this here blog ‘o mine.  You might have noticed something different this week, a bit of a layout change but more notably….

… A NAME CHANGE!….

Yes, “Love is a Four Letter Word” is now “The Photography of Ashley E.”

When I first started this blog it was without a clear vision of what I wanted it to be, but I knew that I wanted it to be full of lovely things and things that made people happy. With the idea of playing on the idea of “bad” four letter words, I named it “Love is a Four Letter Word” to show that not all four letter words are bad. Some are wonderful! Some of the best words are four letters. Love. Hope. Kiss. Help. Hero… I could go on.

As the blog moved on I also show cased my own photography in it and started writing more about my life and thoughts and less about just lovely things in general. The idea of changing the name didn’t really strike me until Christmas when A) I got engaged, which has incited all sorts of name change dilemma’s in my head and B) I saw a book titled “Love is a Four Letter Word” in the small bookstore of my hometown. Of course, the book intrigued me as it had the same title as my blog. So I picked it up and turned it over to read the back. To my shock, it wasn’t about love, it was a book about how horrible and twisted romantic love can be and how completely unlovely some relationships are. It was saying the ‘love’ belonged in the category of ‘bad’ four letter words. I have to admit, I’d never thought of the title from that perspective, but I suddenly realized that people could, and people probably did see my blog and think that it was about love as a bad word, instead of a good word.  It was then I knew I had to change the name of my blog. I needed a name that was more about me, less general, and that couldn’t be taken for anything else.

I also needed a name that would allow me to make a smoother transition when I take my Mike’s last name. (Seriously, this is plaguing me at night… I have ALL my internet accounts, all my usernames, email addresses, etc, using my current last name. How will I go about changing that!? But that’s another post…)

Really, you wouldn’t believe how hard it is to think of a name for a blog. You want something memorable, but personal; something people will relate too, but also explains the blogs purpose. Mike’s idea of “Ashley’s Happy Funtime Place” was not the kind of name I wanted, but it was the only idea I had.

Then, like a metaphoric apple from the sky, the idea came. It sounded good, had a nice rhythm to it. It described what the blog was about, and was pretty simple and straightforward. So I jumped in with both feet.

Welcome everyone, to “The Photography of Ashley E.”!

Expect to see, photos, life blurbs, the odd recipe, and lots of other lovely things.

As more celebration, here are some more cherry blossoms. Hurray!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 5:21 pm

    Congrats on the name change!! I feel like my blog is transforming as well from what I first imagined it to be. I am looking forward to lots more beautiful photos from you!

Leave a Reply

