Skip to content

Listen, Listen, Listen

February 2, 2010

It looks grey, dark and uninviting outside. Perhaps that is why I’m feeling a bit on the side of blah with a hint of sad. I’m feeling unmotivated to do much other than just curl up under a warm blanket and sleep.  I think this is why animals hibernate in winter – so they don’t have to put up with the winter blues.

In an effort to cheer myself up, and to keep up with my 52 lists project, here is a list (in no particular order) of some of my favorite sounds and a short reason on why.

– The sound of heels on concrete. It’s such a sharp sound,  and since I never used to wear heels that much, it’s a sound that makes me feel very grown up. Especially when that sound is associated with me going to a cute cafe, or out to grab some fresh fish for dinner.
– The clink of a teaspoon as I stir honey into my tea. It’s comforting, relaxing, and symbolizes the few moments I take to just… be… as I stir my tea.
– The motorboat purr of my kitty. Especially when he’s sitting on my chest and purring so loud that the sound of it is reverberating through my body. But also the happy quiet purrs he emits when you scratch his belly while he’s sleeping.
– My sweethearts heart beat. ‘Nuff said there.
– The music of an accordian. When I was in Italy accordians seemed to be the street musicians instrument of choice, especially in Venice. And as we would eat dinner they would walk up and down the street and stop at the patios of the various resturants and play for those who would listen.  Now, accordian music always makes me think of Italy.
– Street musicians playing saxophone or violin. I always try to give something to those who do because I love the sounds of those instruments.
–  The sound of flipping paper. Whether it be the sound of one page turning as I read, or the sound of multiple pages being flipped in order to make characters come to life as happened in school. I just love the sounds paper makes.
– Snow, slightly hardened, crunching under foot. That sound reminds me of walking to school every winter all the way through grade school, wrapped up in my scarf, mittens, toque, and sorels.
– The sound of rainfall in a forest. It’s quite different the listening to rain fall in a feild. In a forest there is so much that slows the rain down and redirects it and the rain then drips off of branches and leaves and bushes and it makes a kind of discordant harmony.
– The ringing of church bells and bell towers. Another sound from Italy. Every morning in Venice Mike and I would awake to the sound of church bells echoing over the city. It felt like such a dreamy way to wake up. Now, I live near an old clock tower that still chimes on the hour and it always gives me a smile.
– The click of the camera shutter. Of course. Some cameras have such a lovely shutter sound, they just give me goosebumps!

What are some of your favorite sounds or most memorable sounds? Why do they stand out for you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. youngromantic permalink
    February 7, 2010 6:14 pm

    I love the sound of church bells. When I lived in T.O. (can you tell I miss the city?), I used to work around Church Street and would hear them all the time when walking to or from the streetcar stop. It always makes me smile too.

    I also love the sound of rain lightly falling on leaves when I’m inside reading on a lazy spring or summer afternoon. For some reason, it makes the words sound better in my head.

  2. Ashley Erin permalink*
    February 12, 2010 1:41 pm

    *hugs* Thanks for sharing your sounds with me. I hope you get back to the sound of church bells soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

