Skip to content

2010 – the Year of the Lists

January 26, 2010

I had this wonderful post I was going to do about the wedding show I went to this weekend, and a bunch of other good stuff. Then I went to the gym, which wasn’t so bad, but afterwards I thought it would be a good idea to walk to the grocery store and go get groceries. That was not such a good idea. For all you in shape people out there I’m sure you’re laughing at me, but in my defense this is only my third time at the gym in 2+ years. None the less, I was exhausted when I got home and you shall have to enjoy this little listy from me for now.

So lists seems to be the thing in 2010. Of course anyone who knows me personally knows that I LOVE lists. It really is the best way to organize your thoughts, what you need to do, or whatever.

Hula Seventy started it with the plan to do a list a week for 2010, then Jeanine at Wonderings and Wonderings jumped on board. Now I’m going to give it a go. A list a week, doesn’t seem too hard. The trick though will be to keep the lists interesting. After all, I’m pretty sure you don’t need or want to know my shopping list. Especially since I don’t cook much, my shopping list is pretty blah.(Mike’s shopping list would be much better. Thank goodness I’m marrying a man who cooks!)  So, without further ado, here is:

Ashley’s Guide to Entertaining Yourself when your Bored on the Bus.

  • Read the titles of books other people are reading, sometimes even read a bit over their shoulder to see if you like the writing.
  • Do Sudoku/Crossword puzzles/ Word Finds/ etc. over people’s shoulders to yourself. But don’t share your answers with the person whose puzzle it is. They don’t really like that.
  • Count the number of gingers you see (7 in one morning is the highest so far)
  • Count how many people have retro glasses (3 today!)
  • Be a bit of a Sartorialist and check out other girl’s fashion styles and see if you think it would work for you. Or just stare enviously at their shoes.
  • Try and guess where people are going and which stop they’ll get off at.
  • Lots of people watching.

Now,  since there is a whole year of lists ahead of us, I’m going to open the question to the floor… What would you like to see me list? By all means share your ideas and things you’d like to hear about with me! Whether it’s ‘what do you eat when Mike doesn’t cook’ (nothing healthy!) or ‘What would you do with a million dollars’ (so much!) or even ‘How do I make my cat stop acting crazy’. Um… actually, I can’t help on that last one. My cat is pretty nuts sometime.

So ask and suggest away! I can’t wait to hear from you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. youngromantic permalink
    January 27, 2010 8:04 am

    I like this! When I lived in Toronto (last month) and was taking the streetcar to work, I loved seeing what people were reading, to the point where I looked like a crazy person craning my neck to see the cover of the book. I also loved looking at what girls were wearing and sometimes pretending to read or write but actually listening to peoples’ conversations.

    I think you should do a list about your favourite songs of all time. Or a list of your hidden talents. I’m sure you have lots!

  2. January 27, 2010 10:32 am

    You already know this, but I’ve met some really good friends while on public transit – one simply because of the book I was reading!!!

    … but… you could *redheads*? Really? I feel a little, I don’t know, objectified or something!!! ;o)

  3. Ashley Erin permalink*
    January 27, 2010 2:32 pm

    Allison – I try and pretend I’m stretching or tying a shoe sometimes to see what other people are reading. 🙂 And those are great ideas for list! I shall keep them in mind.

    Julie – I also count people with glasses, or tattoos, or hats, or tall boots, or ….. I think I have a problem with counting things…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

