Skip to content

The Weekend of the Lost Voice

January 18, 2010

After 3 days for having not much more than a squeak for a voice, I feel quite human again today!

Seriously, loosing your voice makes for some major communication problems. Like when Mike just gets home from work, and I’m trying to get his attention before he takes his shoes off ’cause we’re out of orange juice. But of course he can’t hear me and has his back turned and so doesn’t see me wildly waving my arms. He’s talking about his day and completely oblivious to the fast approaching disaster that I’m trying to alert him of.  Once his shoes and coat are off, and I’ve stopped trying to talk ’cause it hurts, He comes up and says ” Aww… I’ll get you some orange juice.” I try, and again fail to be able to let him know that there isn’t any, so he goes to the fridge, opens it, closes it and then asks, “Honey, why didn’t you say we were out of orange juice before I took my shoes off?” To which I respond with laughter. (though is it laughter if it doesn’t make a sound?).

On an exciting note, Vicki from Simply Hue has kindly chosen me to be one of the photographers featured on her “Spotlight on Photography” Feature which starts on February 1st. Thanks so much Vicki!

Also, I preordered tickets today to go to my first wedding show. So nervous! Thankfully, it’s a small one that is only into its second year, so hopefully not crazy overwhelming. It’s called “Indie I do” and sounds really interesting. Eventually I think I might have to go to one of those big Wedding Shows, but maybe I don’t have to? Please? I don’t really like crowds of people in general, and crowds of brides-to-be might be enough to give me nightmares!

Due to being sick, my weekend was pretty tame, a lot of sitting on the couch and playing video games. I’m busy replaying Mass Effect because Mass Effect 2 is coming out soon. So excited! What can I say? Sometimes I just like to shot at things.

I hope you all had a lovely weekend and I will have more for you later this week, including my first try at crocheting! Yikes!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 3:00 am

    glad you are feeling better and CONGRATS on being featured. your photos are amazing.

  2. January 19, 2010 8:18 am

    Heh. If I lost my voice I’d probably be showing an engagement ring next year! 🙂 But my voice is all to well! I think I inherited a wee bit-o-sarcasm…Ah well.
    Congrats on Simply Hue! I’ll have a peek.
    Have fun at the show. I have issues with crowds too.
    Best,
    Andrea

  3. January 20, 2010 6:40 am

    I just found your blog, and love it! Congratulations on your engagement, and good luck with the crocheting. I just taught myself to knit and am loving how chilled out it is!

  4. aerussell permalink*
    January 20, 2010 12:35 pm

    Thanks Jeanine and CrowNology for the congrats on the simply hue feature. 😀
    Bluebell, thanks for stopping by to visit! I’m glad you like my little piece of the world wide web. 😀

Leave a Reply

