Skip to content

Word of the Year – Explore

January 13, 2010

I first hear about the idea for a “word of the year” on Susannah Conway’s blog. Then Danielle LaPorte mentioned something similar, and Suvarna Mollerup too. And personally, I think it’s better than choosing a new years resolution.

After many days of thinking, and pondering I stumbled upon the perfect word for this new year.

So my word for 2010 is : Explore

Motto: To explore with my mind, my heart, my hands and my feet.

I feel lately I’ve been sitting back and just following the flow of where my life is going, not really taking the time to look for any other channels or branches.  Mostly it’s because I felt like I was in a sinking boat and im was spending so much time just trying to keep it afloat. But things have been steadily improving in the land of Ashleywood and now that the boat isn’t in danger of capsizing, I’m finding that there are a lot of opportunities, possibilities and such that I didn’t notice before. So this year I am going to explore them.

I want to explore more of the city and area I live in. You know, go out of my way to see stuff.

I want to explore more books, more writers, more philosophers and more knowledge.

I want to explore more techniques for my camera’s, all 6 of them!

I want to explore more about myself and continue to grow into the person I want to be.

I want to explore more projects, more writing, more crafts, perhaps learn to crochet and make a blanket?

I want to explore new friendships – online, offline, by letter, whatever! There are so many wonderful people out there.

I want to explore old friendships and explore ways to make time for my good friends.

I want to explore ways of changing habits or creating better habits.

I want to explore the possibility of having my own photography show.

I want to explore.

So there you have it! A very late, but still better than never, New Years Word. Hurray for me! Just having this word before me feel invigorating and gives me something to strive for. Even if I just try and explore in a small way each day, I think it will make for a magical year. Now if only the weather would explore some other options. Rain again Mother Nature? How unoriginal.

How about all of you? Do you make resolutions, or have words or goals for your new year? Or do you just jump on whatever comes and then jump off when your done? How do you plan the year ahead?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. youngromantic permalink
    January 13, 2010 2:02 pm

    Explore. I like it. My word of the year is “trust.” AND I also have a list of goals and resolutions, but they’re more like decade goals than year goals, because let’s be honest, I don’t think I could learn German AND ASL in one year!

  2. January 13, 2010 2:46 pm

    Hi,
    A great word for 2010. Especially with camera in hand! I too am exploring with my camera!
    I got the idea for a ~Word of the Year~ from Susannah’s blog too…My word is ~Empowered~ If you’d like to read about it, it is here–>
    http://crownology.blogspot.com/2010/01/my-new-year-starts-today.html
    I wish you lots of interesting and successful explorations in 2010!
    Best,
    Andrea

  3. January 13, 2010 4:40 pm

    Great word, there is so much potential in it. I hope you enjoy your journeys/adventures and if you ever need a photography buddy just let me know.

    Thanks for mentioning me.

  4. January 14, 2010 8:21 am

    I like it, Ash! You’re sounding good, and I like that! Here’s hoping that I actually get to see you in 2010!
    *hug*

  5. aerussell permalink*
    January 20, 2010 12:38 pm

    Thanks so much everyone! 😀

Leave a Reply

