Skip to content

SX70 = Sexy

December 10, 2009

There she is, my new-old baby! I’m naming her Celeste.

I’ve had her officially for a couple of weeks, but due to being sick was only able to start taking pictures with her a few days ago. She’s so pretty and I love to close and open her up, it’s so… retro! The sound she makes is music to my ears (though it makes my cat want to attack it.) In other words, I’m impressed.

Like every new camera though, I’m still learning the ins and outs. For instance, I need practice with the focusing as the viewfinder is a bit different from my 35mm SLR, and I know it’s going to take a lot of practicing to know what kind of lighting situations will work with this and what kind are too dark, or as is the case in my apartment, too orange.  (I took a picture of my cat in the bathtub and it turned out looking orange like a pumpkin!). But I’m ready and willing to take those steps, to make my Polaroid photography better.  I can do this! I just might have to hide my receipts from buying Polaroid film from M. :S

Now that I have this beauty, I’m really hankering to hang out with some other Polaroid photographers, or general film photographers in Vancouver. I know a couple but there must be more.  Perhaps I should start a Vancouver Vintage Camera Alliance. And wear a red cape and save vintage cameras everywhere from being hidden in basements….. or maybe that was just some weird dream I had last night.

Here is my first ever Polaroid with an SX70. It’s a music box. I will perhaps tell you the story behind it someday, but for now, it’s bathed in late afternoon light and Polaroid goodness.

This SX70 was a sort of pre-Christmas gift to me. Do you ever buy yourself pre-holiday gifts?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 6:51 pm

    I’ve got a Polaroid I would love to use, but I haven’t found any film locally in Vancouver.

  2. aerussell permalink*
    December 15, 2009 2:22 pm

    Urban Outfitters still has a lot of Polaroid film left at their Granville Location. I try and buy some every time I go in.

  3. January 4, 2010 8:13 pm

    I just bought a new to me Polaroid – OneStep CloseUp. I am looking for a camera just like you.
    Can you tell me where you purchsed it?? Also does the SX70 take the 779 film that you can purchase at Urban Outfitters???

    Thanks, nice blog and great photos.
    I am in North Vancouver and I would love to be part of a Polaroid Group……if you start one!

Leave a Reply

