Skip to content

Pain, Agony and Hope for Tomorrow

November 4, 2009

Or… how my NaNoWriMo novel is going.

In a word (or two), it’s going. Sort of. Sometimes? Not well, but moving forward.

It’s been almost 2 years since I have written anything longer than a poem or a journal entry. I used to write all the time and I thought it would come back quickly, like riding a bicycle.  Only problem is… I was never very good at riding bicycles.

Sometimes it feels like every word or sentence is like pulling teeth, then in the next instant I’ll hit a flow for about 500 words. Then the flow will mysteriously dry out and it will be tough again. In the last three days of writing I have noticed that it has felt like it’s getting easier… or at least less hard. But it’s still hard. But so is life, so is anything worth doing. I keep telling myself that so I don’t do what I usually do on big personal projects, quit halfway through and feel ashamed and then pretend it never happened.

I am very determined not to let that be the case this time. Even if I don’t reach 50,000 words I am going to write the perscribed 1167 words EVERY DAY, until the end of November. I am not going to feel like a quitter anymore, I won’t be the person who always gives up on her own dreams and desires. I will prevail! I will survive! I will survive!

If you are Nano-ing (I think I just made that up) and looking for some more inspiration and support, here are some other bloggers response to NaNoWriMo.

The Birth of Characters – Bits of Beauty

You are What you Read (or Write) or a Love Letter to NaNoWriMo – SeaKisst

Thirty Days and Nights of Literary Abandon – The Romantic

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 6:29 pm

    Thank you for linking to me! Keep writing!

  2. November 5, 2009 7:38 am

    Thanks for linking me too! I’m experiencing much of the same things you are … somedays it’s liking pulling teeth, other days I surprise myself with the things I come up with. I’ve given up on the idea of perfection and trying to silence my evil Inner Editor (which is extremely difficult, since I edit for a “living”) and am just having fun with the experiment. Who knows what we’ll come up with at the end of the month?

    PS: my main characters have both left their provinces (New Brunswick and Quebec, respectively) to live in Vancouver. I’ve never been to Vancouver, so at some point, maybe after the novel’s written, I need to talk to you about it so it can be accurate!

  3. November 5, 2009 7:40 pm

    I have no idea what Nanowrimo is, but Im intrigued and going to look it up.
    It seems like you are dealing with the problems in writing that I am with photography.

  4. SaraKate permalink
    November 12, 2009 1:41 pm

    Thanks for mentioning my post. I hope your novel is going well. I’m blowing off everything else to write tonight. 🙂

  5. aerussell permalink*
    November 13, 2009 1:32 pm

    Thanks for all the encouragement fellow Nanowriters!

    Alison, of course I would be happy to answer any Vancouver related questions. 🙂

    Amanda, artistic vision and getting what’s in your head out into the world is a problem for anyone who tries to create. It sucks. 😛

Leave a Reply

