Skip to content

Autumn Planning for Winter Projects

October 8, 2009

October is my favorite month, well… maybe it’s a tie with April, but anyways. I love October. I love the crisp air and coolness on my skin. I love the colours, the leaves and the fog. I love just about everything about October… EXCEPT… when I get sick. Which sadly is what I am right now. I woke up on Sunday with a sore throat and it hasn’t gone away. It’s actually starting to migrate into my sinuses. blech! I know it isn’t anything serious, but it makes my head feel all fuzzy and according to M. I’m flight and floofy enough as it is!

October is also when I start making plans for what I’m going to do during the cold Canadian Winters. (Okay, I live in a temporate rainforest right now, but it gets really wet! I will take snow and dry cold over rain and damp cold any day of the week.) Sometimes I accomplish these projects, often not, but I always make plans for them anyways.

This year I have a couple of BIG projects that I’m hoping to work on.

The first one is… *drum roll* National Novel Writing Month!

I’ve never participated in NaNoWriMo before, though once I did try out it’s script writing sibling – Script Frenzy – which I didn’t finish. The not finishing is something that scares me and that I tend to do alot with anything I write. I start something and then don’t complete it, whether it be a poem, a story, a journal entry, a blog post, whatever! I’m notorious for not following through with my goals, so I’m really hoping I can change that and keep this up and finish something! Cross your fingers for me!

My second big project that I would like to try is to crochet an afghan. Specifially, a really really pretty and girly one like this:

granny-squares

(via Ohdeedoh)

I have found the pattern I need, I just need to get all the supplies. I haven’t crocheted since I was in middle school, so I might have some trouble starting… but I hope not too much. Even M. thinks it’s nice and so I have the go-ahead on all accounts!

Shall I get these done? we will see… we will see…

What winter projects do you have for yourself?

UPDATE: The crocheted afghan is under way! Check it out here!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 7:41 am

    I’d love to learn how to crochet a lovely throw like this. I also spend October planning, mostly for Christmas gifts. I hope you feel better soon!

  2. October 9, 2009 9:37 am

    I hope you can make the afghan. Crocheting is something you can pick up, like bike-riding. Hope it turns out nice. 🙂

  3. January 13, 2010 5:31 pm

    I was wondering if you could share this crochet pattern for the blanket with me. I was looking for something just like this. It would really help me out! Thank you!

  4. August 25, 2010 2:05 am

    Hi,

    I´m looking exactly for the pattern of the blanket, can you help me by sending it to tanni@knoepflies.de, thanks ;o)

    Hugs from Germany
    Tanni

Leave a Reply

