Skip to content

Flight of the Bumblebee

July 15, 2009

The sun was shining, the flowers were blooming and the bees were going positively nuts over my lavender plants. I watched from a distance as the buzzed about the buds, hoping from one to the next. It was almost entrancing how they maneuvered their bodies around the stems in search of the pollen they seek.  Then, after they have found as much as they can carry, to watch the impossible as they fly off in the direction of their hive.

It makes me smile, this tiny creature so full of determination and perseverance, this creature which scientifically should not be able to fly but does! It defies them all and flies anyway. It also made me happy to see the bees giving my lavender such a thoroughly work over because of all the trouble they are facing lately, what with pesticides, insecticides and Colony Collapse Disorder.  I admit, bees are not my favorite insect. They are actually one that I am incredibly afraid of due to a traumatizing bee sting as a child. But watching them in this sort of habit they seemed far to busy with the flowers to notice me. So I conquered my fear (a little bit) and got out my camera, getting as close as I dare.

Snap!

A frozen moment of time. I hope that it won’t become a picture of an extinct species, because as much as I am afraid of bees, I respect how incredibly important the impossible little critters are to the environment. So I hope they will be around and scaring me for a long, long time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

