Skip to content

Flickr Fotographer Friday – Rebecca Lily

July 10, 2009

RebeccaLily

Today’s photographer is a one I just discovered barely a month ago, but already I am so taken by her images. Meet Rebecca Lily – wife, mother of 5 and one of the most dreamy photographers on Flickr.  Whenever I look at her photosteam there are a few words that always pop into my head: soft, rustic and real. Her photos always seem so real to me, and not real by way of tangible but real like they aren’t trying to disguise or hide anything.  The worn wood of a chair, or the natural unruliness of wild flowers, she captures these images without trying to hid that reality that makes them beautiful. Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about what the media tells us and how advertising is always showing us things that are smooth, unnatural, perfect, everything in it’s place and how this warps our view of what the world is really about. Perhaps that is why Rebecca Lily’s photos are so refreshing. She is combating this false image by giving us photos of a real world where everyone is welcome. For that I thank you Rebecca,  and I look forward to seeing many more wonderful photographs from you.

If you would like to see more of Rebecca’s work you can pop by her Flickr stream or her blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 5:27 am

    Thank you so much for featuring my work, and for your amazing and kind words. I literally got tears in my eyes reading what you said. 🙂 Those sentiments are exactly what I want to portray in my photos. Thank you again!!

  2. youngromantic permalink
    July 14, 2009 12:54 pm

    Alright, I’m hooked. Her photography is SO GORGEOUS. Between the two of you, I’m so inspired to take more photos!

  3. July 20, 2009 6:08 pm

    I love the orange boots on the chair. She’s an amazing photographer! Your blog is great, too!

  4. June 14, 2011 2:13 am

    I love rebecca lily !

Leave a Reply

