Skip to content

Summer Disappointment

July 3, 2009

Watermelon Love

(From i can read)

(WARNING: Don’t be fooled by the cheerful image, this might turn into a rant post…)

By now I had hoped I would have some picture to show you from my lovely Polaroid Automatic 104 (posted about here). Sadly it seems that was not to be.  I know it’s one of the risks of buying on eBay, but the camera arrived without the battery conversion I had asked for leaving me to do it myself, and after doing that, I can’t for the life of me get the camera to work. Every picture turns out black. I’ve researched and looked up what to do on so many web pages I’m overwhelmed by it. And 3 days after email the company I bought the camera from (that claimed it was working when they sold it to me) I have not heard back from them with any help or suggestions.  I’m quite distraught and it has actually brought me down quite a bit over the last few days.

I know it seems silly to cry and get upset over a camera, but the last year has been fraught with so  much difficulty for me and my boyfriend (the death of my Opa, unemployment for both of us at different times, family issues on both sides, struggling to make what little money we had cover rent and groceries, and most recently we found out his mom has cancer.) but things were finally looking up! I had a good and steady job, he has a job starting soon, we were both going to be employed at the same time for the first time since last April. At least money wouldn’t be so tight any more. We could give ourselves little luxuries. This camera was going to be my little luxury, my treat to myself from money I had been saving since Christmas.

And the camera doesn’t work and the company I bought it from don’t seem to think it is important to email me back.  I feel cheated and hurt and disappointed in the world at large.

I know that this blog is supposed to be about cheerful things, but I just can’t seem to find anything cheerful right now. Most of my favorite photographers shoot polaroid and I can’t even look at those photos right now without feeling sad. To top it all off, I got myself a horrible sunburn on Canada Day (July 1st for those not in Canada). So I am grouchy and in mucho pain.

I hope that next week I will find something to smile about and to post here.

My apologies for the unhappy post. Of course, if anyone has any links of smile-worthy things they would like to share with me for posting here, please pass them on! My own inspiration is running thin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. youngromantic permalink
    July 3, 2009 5:35 pm

    I’m really sorry to hear about that. About your Opa and everything else on top of that …

    I’d say “I know how you feel” but no one can ever truly understand how someone else feels. But in a way, I guess I do. I lost my Oma earlier this year and my Opa the year before that. And if it’s any consolation, I had a really, really bad day today and it’s only gotten worse …

    But here’s a *hug* from Ontario and the promise that it WILL look better tomorrow. I have to keep reminding myself that too, that “this too shall pass” …

    PS: It’s nice to find another Dutchie/German though! 🙂

  2. aerussell permalink*
    July 8, 2009 1:46 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your Opa and Oma, *hugs* Also about your bad day, I hope that things are going a better now. 🙂

    And you’re right, it’s always so hard to remember it in the moment, but everything does pass by. For me one of the biggest challenges of it all is not to let all the bad just build up my cynicism. ‘Cause then it’s just impossible to find the little joys in each day that are so necessary.

    So here is a *hug* back from Vancouver and thank you.

Leave a Reply

