Skip to content

Taking Time Project

June 12, 2009

Lately I’ve been feeling that sometimes the world is going to fast. Things are progressing faster and faster and humanities level of patience is getting shorter and shorter. When I see kids on the bus with cell phones that aren’t even out of elementary school, it always makes me do a double take. I never got a cell phone till I moved away to go to school and even then it was a pretty big deal. A few months ago I was looking for some wooden alphabet blocks for a photography project. I scoured every store I could think of and FINALLY found one, but for the most part, they don’t exist anymore. All of the toys that stores are selling to teach kids their ABC’s are electronic. Seriously, mini computers for pre-school kids.

Now, I have a bit of a love affair with vintage processes – I own a Polaroid camera and just bought another one, I had a record player (which I had to sell ‘cause I moved and it wouldn’t fit in the apartment. L ), I love to bake bread (with YEAST!), and there is nothing better than paper for writing on, and so on. This love affair is continuing to grow as this winter I again took up cross stitching and this summer, gardening. It is the latter that triggered my idea for a bit of a summer project.

The project is all about taking time to do things, using what I have and finding enjoyment in doing things the long way around rather than the convenient modern way.

This will start with my herb garden.

I’ve been reading up on the properties of the herbs I have (thyme, rosemary, lavender, sage and mint) and I plan on trying to use the herbs for those purposes, rather than just for looking pretty.  The most obvious use for herbs is for cooking, which will be delicious! But they have so many other uses!  Rosemary has cat deterring properties which will hopefully help keep my kitty off the kitchen counters. It has can be made into a tea to help with digestive problems. Thyme can be made into an anti-fungal agent that will battle athlete’s foot as well as a tea to help with bronchitis. Gargling a mixture of sage, apple cider vinegar (which has tons of amazing properties on its own) and salt will help sore throats. It can also be made into a tea to help with digestive problems. Lavender is a wonderful relaxant and sleep inducer, plus it just smells heavenly!  Mint has tons of useful properties. Everything from helping stomach aches and menstrual cramps to aiding in acne prevention and even can be used as a healing agent for dog bites and bee stings!

Wow! All those helpful things are growing right there in my garden, and I’ve been spending money on quick over-the-counter remedies.

Granted, it takes time to prepare these things, they have to dry, or be crushed, the juices have to be infused into something else and of course, the plants have to grow. But maybe it’s worth the time. Maybe these will work better than the over the counter remedy, maybe I’ll really enjoy preparing them, maybe they won’t work at all, who knows? But I want to find out and so that is part of my Taking Time Project. There will be other additions to the project as the summer goes on, but for right now. I think this will be a good start.

How about you, what do you think about the modern conveniences of electronics and medicines and what would you perhaps like to try taking some more time to do?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

