Skip to content

Five Things That Taught Me to Like Pink

April 22, 2009

Believe it or not, I used to hate pink. Not just dislike it, but have a passionate hatred of the colour and all that I thought it stood for. I have always been a bit of a tomboy and pink to me summed up every reason I had for being so. Pink looked dirty sooner than other colours when climbing trees that you weren’t supposed to, and boys always thought teased you about being a girl and so not able to do things like play sports and such when you wore pink. As I grew older some of the girls that I found the most annoying always seemed to be found wearing pink in some way shape or form and so my distaste for the colour was firmly established.

Recently though, my heart has started to soften towards the colour.  I have even (gasp) bought clothes that have pink on them and I’m starting to find touches of pink comforting and calming. Why the change you ask? Well, here are a few reasons why:

  • 1. Cherry Blossoms – It was really inevitable as soon as I moved to a place that had cherry blossoms, I don’t see how anyone can not like pink and live amongst cherry blossoms

  • Decor8 Banner

    2. Decor8 – When Holly Becker makes pink so fun and fashionable and incredibly desirable, how I can avoid it just because of my long time distaste for the colour? Simple, I can’t. Holly has won me over to the side of pink. See this post for a plethora of pink.

  • Antrho PinkAntrho Pink by aerussell on Polyvore.com

  • 3. Anthropologie.com – Seriously some of the most amazing clothes I have ever seen. They appeal deeply to my feminine side and so, slowly over time, their use of soft pinks and peaches got to me.

  • 4.  Sadly I don’t have a picture to share with this reason, but it is quite significant. For years I dyed my hair red. Not fire engine red but a fairly natural looking red. I had people the world over convinced I was a natural red head.  In my opinion, red hair and pink clothes don’t go together, not on me anyways.  Recently, I changed my hair colour to a much darker auburn, almost a chocolate brown with just a hint of red.  Brown hair and pink, I have no objections to that! And thus the world of pink was opened up to me.

  • 5.  Pink is the colour of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation. When the colour pink is used for such a noble cause, really, I have to fold don’t I?

    2 Comments leave one →
    1. April 22, 2009 2:06 pm

      Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

    2. April 23, 2009 6:52 am

      Cute, hon! :o)
      I have to pay more attention to the newer pics of you to see the new hair colour!
      I’ve always had a love hate relationship with pink — the hair thing had a big thing to do with it. But, in the ’80s and early ’90s I loved the neon pink… and now I love it as an accent colour! Because of the whole redhead thing, I always take great joy in wearing even the tiniest bit — like on my socks!

    Leave a Reply

