Skip to content

25 Random Things about Me

January 23, 2009

The Divine Comedy

Originally uploaded by Ash Tree Photography (Ashley)

A close friend of mine on facebook tagged me for this silly list. Normally I never do these but I had some time so I figured what the heck! After I finished it, I thought I would post it here too. Enjoy!

1. I was born in Flin Flon, Manitoba, which is the only town in Canada named after a fictitious character. I credit this for being the reason that I like to write and tell stories.

2. I cannot eat anything in the day if I have not had breakfast food first. Whether its porridge, a bowl of cereal or a bagel or anything else breakfast-like, I have to eat some kind of breakfast food before I can even stomach the idea of eating anything else.

3. My form of comfort shopping is shopping for books. Whenever I have a bad day I go and buy a book. Not just any book though, it has to be the right book for the day. To discover this, I walk around the whole book store, looking at and picking up books until I find one that ‘just feels right to hold’ and after carrying it around the bookstore for another half hour or so, I buy it. It’s a lengthy process.

4. I have 4 different cameras. 2 of them no longer work, one can be fixed, and one is an antique that I use for display. Of the other 2 I only use one on a regular basis and the 2nd is a film camera that I have no plans to get rid of soon.

5. For most of my life I wanted to be a Marine Biologist. Then very suddenly (like in the matter of a day) I changed my mind and went and studied Animation instead. Sometimes I think I would still like to be a Marine Biologist.

6. I enjoy bad jokes. Puns and Fifth Grade humor, the more I hear it, the funnier I find it. I once got my Mom a birthday card that read “Why did the Fish cross the road?” “For the Halibut.” I laughed for a whole day about that and it still makes me giggle.

7. Until recently, I had clothing in my dresser, which I still wore, that I had gotten when I was in Grade 9.

8. I play 3 instruments, all of them badly. The piano (which I took lesson for from the time I was 7 or 8, but never got anywhere because every time my family would move, my new piano teachers would start me at the beginning again.), the flute (which I took lessons for in high school and still enjoy very much), and the guitar (which I’ve been trying to teach myself to play on and off.)

9. I used to be really boy crazy. From Grade 1 onwards, I have had a different crush every year. I can still name all of them. Surprisingly enough though, I’ve only ever had one boyfriend, whom I am still with and plan on staying with for a very long time.

10. I love the smell of books. I’ve been known to walk around bookstores just smelling books.

11. My taste in music runs from Country to Rock to Pop to Punk to Classical and Instrumental to Indie to Folk to Bluegrass and back again. Putting my iTunes on shuffle can have some very interesting results.

12. I do not like pineapples. At all. Don’t try and convince me, I’ve tried them. I don’t like them.

13. I’m a pack rat. I’m guilty of keeping things like birthday cards for years and years after receiving them. Add them to the millions of other pieces of paper and little knickknacks I keep for no reason other than I don’t know what else to do with them… it gets to be a lot.

14. Despite the fact that I went to art school, I love math. I still get a certain thrill about solving math problems, though I admit that the more complicated math problems I have forgotten how to solve. Except for long division. I am awesome at long division.

15. I believed in Santa Clause until I was in Grade 6 when my best friend told me he wasn’t real and I cried all night. I remember my parents being really pissed off that my friend had ruined this little thing for me.

16. I have the hardest time remembering which side is my right and which is my left. Even with the trick of making an ‘L’ with your hands, I get confused because I can’t remember which way and ‘L’ goes.

17. I haven’t seen my natural hair colour since I was in Grade 10. And if I can help it, I never plan on seeing it again.

18. When I was in high school, I read through “The Lord of the Rings” every summer. I saw “Fellowship of the Rings” 5 times in theatres. I saw “The Two Towers” three times in theatres. Sadly, I only saw “Return of the King” once in theatres, but the extended version on DVD was so much better anyways.

19. When I was little I used to have a lisp that made all my mom’s friends think I sounded British. They were very sad when I had speech therapy and lost the lisp. Years later, when my family was camping in the Northwest Territories, I was on a beach by Great Bear Lake and an older gentleman with a nice dog asked if I was born in England. Apparently he thought I still sounded like I might have once had an accent.

20. People have told me that I have a good voice for radio, because it’s clear and easy to listen to and I pronounce things well. Sometimes, I think it would be nice to be on radio, but I doubt it’s something I will ever seriously pursue.

21. I love notebooks. Especially pretty notebooks. I have a surprising amount of notebooks lying around that I haven’t actually written anything in.

22. I am very self-conscious about my hand writing. Various teachers and people throughout my youth chided me for having poor handwriting. I don’t think my handwriting is really THAT bad, but it’s not something I’m proud of either.

23. Plant guts disgust me. Empting the seeds out of pumpkins, or seeds or insides out of any kind of plant is the most disgusting thing I can think of. I had a roommate once who would leave all these kinds of plant guts in the sink and not clean it up. . I have no problem meat or blood, but gutting a pumpkin… ewwwwww!

24. I have never ever broken a bone. Not one. Never sprained a finger or a toe or broke my arm as a kid or anything. I credit this to how much milk I drink, which is a lot. I did however fall headfirst onto a concrete floor once and got a concussion. But I don’t think my head broke… though others might say differently. 😉

25. Last but not least, I was born on a Friday the 13th. Huzzah!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 3:33 pm

    This list was great. I really enjoyed reading it.

    I’m not sure where you get so many ideas to write, I’d have to get someone to ASK me them for me to come up with a response.

    Anyways, you seem like a cool person. Your bf is a lucky dude.

    peace 🙂

  2. Steven Zylstra permalink
    January 30, 2009 11:57 am

    I have to say that I deeply disagree with number 12; fresh sliced pinneapple is the best! And hey now, I believe in Santa Clause(15), even if he isn’t the nicest guy in the world. I wish I could sound British(19).

    Steven

Leave a Reply

