Skip to content

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

December 17, 2008

It’s been snowing all day, there is about half a foot of snow on the ground now. For many this doesn’t seem to be anything worth mentioning, but where I live, it almost never snows. When it snows here, the city shuts down; buses stop running, businesses close, people stay home from work to avoid driving in conditions they are not accustomed too. For many here, snow is not something to be celebrated, it is something to cringe at.

Not so for me. I grew up in regions farther north than those I now habitate. I remember times when blizzards would strike on September 1st and the snow would stay till sometime in May. I remember snowbanks that are higher than cars and I remember going Trick or Treating in snowsuits.

So when it snows down here in this temperate rainforest where I am now, it always strikes me as magical. So today, sitting at my computer and watching the heavy white flakes continue to fall, it feels as if all is right with the world. Oh, it certainly adds to the light mood when my cat is jumping at the window, trying to attack the snowflakes as they fall outside. He just can’t understand what this white stuff is and why it keeps falling down and why he can’t get at it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

